Poets logo

MY WEDDING

Outdoors on a summer day

By Margaret BrennanPublished 10 months ago 1 min read

The man I was about to marry, had an idea for our wedding. I didn’t agree because I thought he was right; I agreed because I knew how much fun it would be – we were both right!

Here is a poem about our special day.

THE WEDDING

Aunt Millie sits quietly; her eyes filled with tears.

She hadn’t attended a wedding in years.

Her hanky is wet; she tries to explain,

“The love and sentiment make the tears fall like rain.”

*

It’s a warm summer day and up from the ground,

As we all stand in horror, pollen flies all around.

Some begin choking; we all start to sneeze.

Poor dear Aunt Millie, then starts to wheeze.

*

Young Pete holds the rings while biting his lip,

Afraid they might fall if he should suddenly trip.

They hear the bride giggle, her nerves overdone.

She looks all around as if wanting to run.

*

With her sons on each arm, down the aisle, they then sped.

They handed her over – and so she was wed.

The reception that followed was a party at home.

In spite of the sneezing, guests wanted to roam.

*

The photographer shouted, “Let’s take pictures, please,”

And the newly wed couple could do little but sneeze.

We heard screams and laughter from beyond the fence wall.

Guests jumped in the pool, suits, dresses, and all!

*

There wasn’t one dry eye at the wedding that day.

As they sneezed out the tears, the pool washed them away.

This poem is not made up! No, I haven’t lied.

If the truth must be known … I WAS THE BRIDE!

love poems

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Margaret BrennanWritten by Margaret Brennan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.