Poets logo

My Skin My Face

Not Fair But Lovely

By AsiyaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
9
My Skin My Face
Photo by Rishabh Butola on Unsplash

I was born to a dark father and a white mother

Everyone said poor thing she did not take after her mother

Neighbors, family and friends said

If only she were white, she would be pretty

She would be lovely.

My mother listened to these women.

When I turned ten, she bought me beauty in a tube.

It was called Fair and Lovely.

The tube promised few shades lighter.

My mother made me promise to use it.

Every night, before I went to bed

I applied the cream to our porcelain toilet.

I didn’t want to trade my honey color.

I didn’t need to be light to be lovely.

Two weeks went by, my mother was happy.

She invited neighbors, family and friends.

Everyone looked at me and rejoiced.

They swore I was few shades lighter.

I was fair and lovely.

I never needed to be fair to be lovely.

slam poetry
9

About the Creator

Asiya

Asiya is my Sufi name given to me by Sherif Papa, my spiritual guide. I was born in Cairo, Egypt. I am a spoken word poet. I love writing short stories. Feel free to email

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.