Poets logo

Watan

In search of Home

By AsiyaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
7
A six year-old Afghan refugee. Photo by Asiya

When the bad people came to our village,

We left our Watan.

Father, will you find home for me?

I left my doll behind.

She is scared without me.

I left my cousins and my friends.

I didn’t even get to say goodbye to them.

Will I see my grandmother again?

I know she is sad without me.

Who is going to make me Mantu?

No one makes Mantu like her!

You told me I would make new friends here.

But,

Children here don’t speak our language.

They don’t play our games.

They don’t know our Watan.

When the bad people came to our village,

We left our Watan.

Father, you said we left for me.

You want me to go to school.

You want me to feel safe.

But,

I am worried about my doll.

All I have from home is memories.

I want to remember our Watan.

I want to taste my grandmother’s Mantu.

Father, will you find home for me?

sad poetry
7

About the Creator

Asiya

Asiya is my Sufi name given to me by Sherif Papa, my spiritual guide. I was born in Cairo, Egypt. I am a spoken word poet. I love writing short stories. Feel free to email

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.