Poets logo

My Shooting Star and Dandelion Wish

A Sliver of Your Attention

By Poppy Published 9 months ago 1 min read
21
Image Created on Midjourney

You look at me

Like you are unsure

What to do when I

Do not have happiness

Tattooed across my face

I search for concern

In the calm of your eyes

Wondering if I will ever find

A muse who can read

The sadness on my skin

And take the time to

Comprehend it

I wish for an embrace

But hope only for

Your words and time

You linger near me

Like clouds blanketing

A twilight sky and

When I look to you

And you draw nearer

I realise that no matter

How much of the world

I wish and long for

I will always settle

For a sliver of

Your attention

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this poem please check out more of my work:

Edit: Story was republished to change cover image/title

love poems
21

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Poppy I absolutely adore your poems 💕

  • We long so much but always settle for so little. Because in the end, it's worth it. Beautiful poem!

  • May you find, my friend, they feel the same for you.

  • Suze Kay9 months ago

    So beautiful, Poppy. I loved the duality of interior and exterior love that you set up here.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Beautiful. :D <3

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    Beautiful poem, beautiful new cover image. I love that you're republishing old poems! I'm finding old gems. ;) This one has that signature crescendo that I love, and the last couple lines are just SO good!

  • Rasheek Rasoolabout a year ago

    Gorgeous Realy Great

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh, that one resonated. Wow, you really captured so much in only a few words. I loved the phrases "tattooed across my face" and "the sadness on my skin." Fantastic :)

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Gorgeous! I loved it so much!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Damn. This hit hard. Beautifully expressed, but so sad. Well done though!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.