Poets logo

My Past, Here and Now, in the Future

A poem about healing by ED 5/9/22

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
7
My Past, Here and Now, in the Future
Photo by Александр Раскольников on Unsplash

You’re safe now, my child

I’ve brought you to the future

For the wounds on your heart; time

For the wounds on your soul; sutures

Stitch together the old leaves

Golden embossed but faded

Lift your hazel eyes to the sun

Leave behind those thoughts so jaded

You’re here with me under the sunflowers

I have so much hope and you have potential

So much has changed though I still see

The tattooed diary is self referential

Hand me your tears, put them in here

I’ve kept them all this time, you know

I understand as I hear, I feel your fears

Water the sunflowers so they grow

Tell me your stories though I already know them

I do love to hear your voice

Your pains are my scars on a scarlet-red heart

But your victories are my joys

You always loved to listen

I suppose that’s why you’re quiet today

Good thing as I’ve grown, I’ve learned to like

Telling your stories my own way

Funny thing too, I have so much to tell you

So much wisdom to impart

I know you can’t hear me as you’re barely with me

Though you’re tucked carefully into my heart

We made it through those trials

The ones you thought would be your death

I’m sorry I didn’t always treat you well

But bear with me and take a deep breath

The air here is clear and freedom is near

From the sins that enslaved you and lied

I don’t know how but I’m paving the way

So eventually you’ll have no shame to hide

I can say freely now I love you my dear

You sweet young thing crushed by strife

Release all those emotions so we can set in motion

The plans for your brand new life.

love poems
7

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Lift your hazel eyes to the sun…I loved this line-great poem

  • Shalløw2 years ago

    This is just wonderful

  • Tessa Glasgow 2 years ago

    This is so beautiful! I loved the flow and feeling🖤

  • This comment has been deleted

  • W. Joe O'Banion2 years ago

    This is great!

  • Love this! you a very talented

  • Sam Eliza Green2 years ago

    To me, this is a heart warming dedication to an inner child. The silence of the child speaks so much about what she is carrying, and it's evident throughout the poem all of the ways the narrator is helping her heal. It's beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.