Poets logo

Her Hands

A sweet musing of a poem by ED 5/9/22

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Her Hands
Photo by ian dooley on Unsplash

Why do you hate the looks

That I envy?

Squishy veins that bear life to

All your body

Are not ugly, they are a map that therein

Holds the treasure

You say it’s aging, falling apart as you go stiff

Refuse to accept

The genuine compliments that come

From my heart

Is there not a femininity to

Your soft hands

Your tender, yet weathered skin?

You hands were always one of my favorite features

Everyone has them

Though they all are so different

Slim and thick and large and small

I love hands

I love yours most of all, covered in

Sweet, warm lotion that enchants the

Air around you

I hope to have your hands someday

If nothing else, but I hope for your character

Strong-willed sainthood

A beloved daughter of God you are

And there is no one else I would choose, no other than

You, my mother.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.