Poets logo

My other Mothers

MOMs

By Joe PattersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

At the end of the summer of my 11th grade, my mother passed away and became Heaven made.

I was a handful, someone had to watch me. She asked God could he send 2 women to adopt me.

But who could handle this rebellious soul? God picked Christal Hylton and Peggy Nicole.

Two women who he would sure drive crazy, but they’ll love him just like the rest of their babies.

One is his mother from work, the other mother from church. Active in his life in ways that a mother would work.

They’ll have to buckle up, this kid will be a ride. He’ll try to push them away, but they won’t leave his side.

He’ll spend a lot of time trying to reject them, but his mother’s love will convince him to accept them.

Christal and Peggy didn’t give birth to him, yet he still holds the same worth to them.

They’re not only my other mothers, but they have the same son, so they have love for one another.

As much as I torture them, I’ll always hold them close to me, thankful that my mother sent them both to watch over me.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    This is so important, my daughter has a step mom and she is just as much a mom as me 😍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.