Poets logo

My Hero

From across the room

By Julie LacksonenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
12
Photo by Анна Хазова from Pexels

It was a wedding reception

Everyone looked sharp.

All around,

I saw

Smiles

Dancing

Drinking

Laughing.

*

I sat alone,

Knowing only the groom, my brother,

And our father,

Who had taken to a bridesmaid.

Her coy expressions and body language

Suggested the feeling was mutual.

*

Happy with my own company,

I nibbled my food,

Watching the dance floor

As if viewing a movie.

A piece of shrimp lodged.

Unable to breathe,

Pounding the table for attention.

*

He locked eyes

From across the room

He saw my panic

And ran my way,

Bumping and knocking over dancers.

I felt him behind me

Just as I blacked out.

*

Upon waking, confused,

I looked into his eyes.

The crowd cheered.

I had eyes and ears only for my rescuer.

He spoke caringly,

His eyes kind.

I wanted to know this man.

To love him -

My hero

From across the room.

love poems
12

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.