Poets logo

My Friend Johnnie

Drinkin Again

By SchmalzPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
8
My Friend Johnnie
Photo by George Zheng on Unsplash

My friend Johnny has rosy cheeks and bloodshot eyes

Charms like the devil and then disappears

Smoke ring clouds roundabout those red eyes

Good at telling jokes and better at making lies

Dances with the girls and has himself a time

But hell has filled that red in his eyes

Breaks every promise and moves down the line

Leaving nothing but a trail of smoke behind

Not sure if he’s real or if he’s alive

But I know he calls out to the divine

And there is death in all of his lies

Nothing but a bitter surprise

And I know I’ll meet him when it’s time

Just before the preacher closes my eyes

And smoke rings fill my casket before I ever say goodbye

Lay me down with my bloodshot eyes

Taste the scotch on my breath

I won’t see you somewhere down the line

art
8

About the Creator

Schmalz

Welcome to my page! I am a writer whose interests are vast and believes in the art of the word. In my writing you will find Non-Fiction, Fiction, and poetry in pursuit of the value of language.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Nice drunken twang to it, so peaty and rich! Smoke of earth, dizzying. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story! 😳❤️

  • Whoaaa, this was very emotional! I loved it!

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Whew this was phenomenal ☺️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.