Poets logo

My 'Friend'

Finding Joy In The Dark.

By Erin ShieldsPublished 4 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
8
Image By @NeverStayDead on Twitter.

My 'friend' is not always kind,

in fact he's often very unkind.

Spitting words of hate into my mind

as if these thoughts were mine.

*

But they are not,

they couldn't be.

I wouldn't think such things.

*

My 'friend' is considered

a mental disease.

He squats inside

occupies my mind.

*

Everyone tells me

he isn't me,

as if we are separate

entities.

But you see

we are, whether I like it or not

combined to this one body and soul.

Together entwined forever enshrined.

*

Sometimes he makes me want to die

but other times I feel more than alive.

I feel so much happiness I want to burst,

like popping a balloon and all my happiness

will be released into the world.

*

You may not understand,

why I'd choose to defend

my 'friend'.

But he has stuck with me

to the very end.

*

He's been there

when no one else was.

I know he can seem all bad,

but I choose to find the silver linings

hidden within him.

*

He brings me joy,

a mind full of creativity.

A mind that can sit here now

writing this poem.

*

Without him I simply would not be me.

I could focus on everything bad he's caused

to happen in my life, even when he's attempted

to drive me to suicide.

*

But that would be wasting my life

So I choose to find the light,

the good inside of him and,

well, me too if I'm honest.

*

My 'friend' is Bipolar.

He is both

Ying and Yang,

Darkness and light.

So you see without him

my life just wouldn't be right.

- Erin 29th June 2020

All Copyrights belong to me do not use my work or re-post anywhere else without my permission.

inspirational
8

About the Creator

Erin Shields

27. England. Poet. I have Bipolar, BPD & Anxiety. I’ve been writing since I was 18 as an outlet for my mental health.

I also have a Ko-Fi with more of my work: https://ko-fi.com/erin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.