Poets logo

My Favourite Colour is You

Until my dying day

By Gerald HolmesPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
Runner-Up in After the Parade Challenge
92
"What's your favourite colour, Poppy?"

I remember the day that you told me

That colourful day in late September

You were much younger then;

Barely finished your teens

But growing so quick

The autumn colours were coming fast.

All red and gold splendour

Join us you said, the time is ripe

Our favourite golden’s we’d pick.

*******

I remembered the little girl.

I carried on my shoulders.

Laughing with joy

As she picked the golden ones

While walking through the orchard.

*****

I remembered all the firsts that I was lucky to see

The first time you crawled

The first time you walked

The first time you talked

You did them all for me.

*****

I remember being confused on that September day

When you insisted on two cars for four people

But your mom said she wanted to talk

So, curious, I said ok

*****

You and your roommate said follow us

And pulled away first

I followed with your mom

Fearing the worst

*****

Your mom and I had finished years before

But we were still close friends

And knowing she had health issues,

This would be bad news, I felt, for sure.

*****

The news she had wasn't bad at all, actually.

When I asked about her health

She said she was fine and this is not about her

It was something our daughter

Needed to tell me.

*****

I knew where this was going.

And when she asked how I felt

About our daughter's roommate

I said that I loved her

And I thought that she was great.

*****

We didn't talk for a while, just enjoying the drive

It was one of those days; you were glad to be alive.

*****

My mind wandered back to treasured memories

Of times long ago, playing in your room

Colouring in your book

Just you and me

*****

I remember teaching you the names.

Gold, red, yellow, orange, green and blue

You said your favourite was gold

And asked, what’s your favourite colour, daddy?

You laughed when I said,

“My favourite colour, honey, Is you.”

*****

Calling you a colour was hard for you to follow

So I explained that some colours show emotion

Red is feeling angry, and Sad is feeling blue

Feeling happy is feeling yellow.

*****

You asked, “So what emotion is my colour, daddy.”

“Your colour is the most important, my little dove.”

"What is it, daddy? Is it very special?"

"Yes, honey. To daddy, your colour is love."

*****

Many times over the years, I've said

You're my favourite colour, to you.

Many times you’ve said it to me

And I know you mean, I love you too.

*****

I remember when we got close to the farm that day

You called your mother as I was driving

And I heard her say

"Ok, honey, I’ll tell him now. We’re just arriving."

*****

As we pulled into the lot,

“They sleep in the same bed.” said your mother

I laughed at her choice of words,

“Well, how else would they sleep? I know they love each other.”

*****

I parked the car and walked towards you.

You stood there looking almost afraid, looking blue.

The look of fear in your eyes broke my heart

Until I hugged you tight and kissed your cheek

Before looking into your eyes and saying,

“My favourite colour is you.”

*****

I think you were worried

You’d disappoint me in some way

But my favourite colour is you

And I’ll support who you are

until my dying day.

*****

Many years have passed.

She found another and was gone.

Your heart was broken

Wondering what you’d done wrong

*****

Your colours changed

All red and blue

I felt your pain

But what could I do?

*****

Your colour was love.

But now it was gone

That is until the day

That she came along.

*****

The first day I met her.

Was the day that I knew.

Because your colour was back

To the colour of you.

*****

Proud moments arrive

In this thing, we call life

One of my proudest is

When you made her your wife.

*****

Proud moments are plenty

Between a girl and her father

But my proudest by far is when

You gave me a granddaughter.

*****

Now I sit with this little girl

Just us in her room

Showing her the colours

And explaining the moon

She asks, “What are these ones?”

I say, “Red, Yellow and Blue.”

“What’s your favourite colour, poppy?”

I smile through my tears.

“My favourite colour is you.”

love poems
92

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    OH MY GOD IM NOT CRYING YOU ARE

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Your daughter is so lucky to have you for a father , congratulations 🎉

  • I became teary-eyed 🥹and then I grew inspired while reading this Brilliant masterpiece ❗💖📝😉

  • Rachel Deemingabout a year ago

    Truly moving. The best poems are always the ones that make tears flow or laughs rise. Loved it.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Oh my gosh I was not expecting to cry this morning but here I am. What an absolutely beautiful tribute of love and support. The part that really got me was this one: Because your colour was back To the colour of you. 😭

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Brought me to tears...beautifully written and so full of love.

  • BEER BRAND2 years ago

    such a wonderful line.. keep it up..

  • Wonderful words

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Hearted Previously!!! Loved it! Congratulations on the Runner-up Win!!!

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Beautiful❤️

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Tears every time I read this. Very well done.

  • This was so sweet. The world needs more parents like you

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    I love this so much. Got tears sneaking out.

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    Cried so hard. Even the second time around. The love just shines off the page. Such a lucky daughter! Beautifully told. <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.