Poets logo

My ex.

a poem written for a class at some point in 2019-2020

By Jay,when I writePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
My ex.
Photo by Austin Chan on Unsplash

My ex used to cause my hands to cramp up

My fingers were never long enough,

Never fast enough

My ex used to make me question my abilities

Who i was,

Who i wanted to be

My ex wasn’t always mean though

Sometimes i’d cry,

Out of feelings I couldn’t name

And by the end of our escapade,

I’d wipe my cheeks with a smile

My ex had everyone flocking

Sometimes the attention made me uneasy

I knew what they wanted

Something fast and clean

Sharp and loud

Something they couldn’t quite understand

My ex was a lot of things,

Fun, difficult, easy

And cruel

But,

In the end

It was only a piano

And i’m happy

To finally

Call it my ex

Thank you for reading this poem younger me wrote. I remember the class I was in liked it and thought the poem was about something/someone else doing certain things I won't say. What did you think though? That, I'd like to hear. Like, comment, react with those little

Fun fact: I like playing the piano still. I actually thought of this idea because of a movie I was watching and the need to submit something for a grade. Ha!

Peace!

heartbreakinspirationallove poemssad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.