Poets logo

My Dark Interior

Analysing my writing a little

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
My Dark Interior
Photo by Patrick Perkins on Unsplash

Feeling defeated, by the darkness inside

"My, oh my I know not the cry

Of decency inside"

But the darkness within is meandering

Seeing the negative first… so hindering

I try positivity

But the negative it be

Powerful and relentless

Pushing through the doors in my mind

To present this

Idea

In a negative light

Creatively so bright

But the negative plight

Is within the words, slithering and herds

More so-aligned thoughts

-

The darkness can be blinding

-

But then comes the light

In the form of hope in spite

The darkness. Balanced

The light, darkness follows

In many forms this is called

Darkness and light

Good and evil

Yin and Yang

It seems darkness always follows the light

Blossoming through every rite

Or concept in the conscious

-

One without the other is meaningless

As definitions are often juxtaposed…

What is light without darkness, but a nameless existence

What is good without evil, but a useless persistence

One needs another for purposeful living

Yin and Yang

Let the darkness be light

------

Author's Note: For a while now I noticed that most of my poems, if not all, tend to have a negative spin to them at first, but then have a little light at the end. This wasn't something I purposefully manufactured, but it just so happens to have that make up by the time i finish. I do end up liking it anyway when I'm done. I just wanted to write about that in this poem, and how I eventually just accepted it as it was, and the logic behind it.

inspirationalsocial commentaryperformance poetry

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Antoinette L Brey7 months ago

    .Darknes always follows light good job -''-

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    So, so inspiring, Mohammed! I really love the dark/light combo :) One can only know light when they've known darkness! Wonderful job!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Mohammed, this poem really struck a cord with me! I also have had this struggle and find it relatable, I also admire you sharing the fight with us! I love the message behind this piece, the idea that all though the darkness is unpleasant we wouldn’t know or understand it without light! It’s brilliant and insightful! Side note: I read that our brains are hardwired to see negativity first because the negative experiences help us know hoe to survive or remember places/ people/ things to avoid in order to survive. It’s a left over instinct from our cave man days, which makes a lot of sense! I am sharing this with you because I want you to know that you are not alone and that this is a very common thing that most of us experience! 💜

  • Missclicked11 months ago

    wonderful!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji11 months ago

    My poetry is the same for the most part. It is true writing is such a great relo

  • One without the other is meaningless. That is absolutely true! Loved your poem!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is great. There is darkness in all, but so long as we allow the light to shine in, we'll be okay. Well said, well written.

Mohammed DarasiWritten by Mohammed Darasi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.