Poets logo

My Color Escape

the rare depth found in simple things

By Stryder MorrisonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
A photo taken from Hat Island looking at the Everett skyline.

My color is the elephant stress of my life shedding when the salt-saturated air tickles my nose,

My color mirrors, mirrors an endless silver heaven, parted only by island-sneezed horizons,

It is broken half shells and barnacle rocks filled with the Puget Sound,

My color converses with the chattering eagles,

My color sings when raindrops on driftwood harmonize with choral background waves,

It reflects from shards of glass, cloudy from time past,

My color is joy.

My color swings through eagle-nested trees, rushing, blurring over the neighbor's lawn,

My color decides the card games we play or the blanket-wrapped know-every-line Rom-Coms we watch,

My color witnesses growing generations of rabbits,

My color is BB-guns echoing the metallic pings of shovel-head welded crabs,

Hungry for Redvines and Peanut M&Ms,

My color is memory.

My color is rainy-day outdoor showers, scared only that the birds are judging,

My color breath-catches in the days and sunset reflects in the evening,

My color is juvenile harbor seals playing with sticks, and catching fish,

My color teaches friends to drive worn clutches,

It pushes the car to the rutted dirt driveway, laughing, slipping in muddy streets looking for leverage,

My color is carefree and innocent.

My color,

48º 01' 8.47" N, 122º 19' 18.98" W.

listperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalfact or fictionart
Like

About the Creator

Stryder Morrison

I am just a normal person with a crazy passion for the unknown world. Traveling, learning, and adventure are all intertwined into the relationships I create. I recently found a passion for writing and thought I could share some of my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.