Poets logo

My Brother

To Ryan and me, myself and I

By Ward NorcuttPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
10
My Brother
Photo by Jayne Harris on Unsplash

Right here, inside you, your heart beats the drum,

My dearest friend, my brother, I decree:

But close your eyes and see your kingdom come.

*

The finished you which you seek to become

Is wrought within. Just listen. Simply be

Right here. Inside you, your heart beats the drum.

*

Quiet your vain desire to become

Enough. Cast off your vaunted pedigree.

But close your eyes and see your kingdom come.

*

No Melody on earth will ever come

To soothe your tender heart and set you free.

Right here, inside you, your heart beats the drum.

*

To go to where you are, you’ve just come from;

There is no other place you need to see.

But close your eyes and see your kingdom come.

*

I speak the truth; if not, God strike me dumb.

You mirror-man, you, I, myself and me:

Right here, inside you, your heart beats the drum,

But close your eyes and see your kingdom come.

*

(I sat in the big blue chair of my living room and wrote this for my dear friend and for me, as a reminder. as a mantra. Just the sounds of a softly ticking clock, muted tapping of keys and the occasionally constant passing car)

Villanellesocial commentaryMental Healthlove poemsinspirationalhow toGratitudeFriendship
10

About the Creator

Ward Norcutt

Playwright and poet.

My goal as a writer is to write thoughtful pieces of prose, poetry and stage plays. Hopefully, the end results are entertaining and engaging, with layers of meaning that make sense to the whole or a theme therein.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    My new favorite villanelle. Goodness, Ward. You're spectacular. This one brought a sorrow to the soul, for those who have forgotten their worth. What a powerful mantra indeed. I sure hope this gets the recognition I feel it deserves. ❤️

  • Kevin Hoffart4 months ago

    Thank you for another beautifully crafted thought provoking piece Ward.

  • Kristen Balyeat4 months ago

    “Mantra” is exactly what I thought while reading. This is important. Awesome piece, Ward!

  • Ryan Smith4 months ago

    A beautiful (and needed reminder). Thank you for writing this.

  • Very moving. Good work Ward.

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    A very powerful piece of work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.