Poets logo

My Boots

You don't need protection in the storm!

By Kristen UlrichPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

I stand here quietly,

in a puddle with my boots on,

wondering where it all went wrong.

I remember a day when boots were optional in the rain.

Now they provide us with the best of protection in the storm.

Who knew that we needed protection?

We were fine enough without it.

Underneath all of that padding is the raw, “us.”

Will you be there when I don’t have my boots on?

Will you stay even after the storm has passed?

Or will you fade away into the sunset like they all do?

Splashing my feet,

squinting my eyes,

rubbing my forehead in the rain!

Maybe you’ll be my next coffeehouse poem on Tuesdays!

Or maybe you’ll be just another nomad,

passing by with your boots on!

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Kristen Ulrich

Please view my website:

http://www.bluerosesweb.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    I like this❤️😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.