Poets logo

Mundane

Thoughts of a girl who finally made it to 20

By Caroline MckennaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

My ideal life

Has fog and orange leaves

Because that's my ideal autumn

Early morning coffee,

Wearing a cream sweater

With my honey in dress pants

And a child eating cheerios,

Her backpack is on the barstool next to her

It's a picket fence,

To a green yard where

my dog and my son play catch

And I grow tomatoes and pumpkins

And my lazy college cat lays on the window sill

Watching the birds and falling leaves

Her age apparent from the snow-colored fur on her face

I dream about this life

Mundane

Normal

I don't fear usual

Although I once did.

Thinking you are going to die before 20

Makes you wish for usual

Normal

Mundane.

I am finally 20,

And I finally hope that

I live longer.

Longer to 50

Or even 75,

With my bones more rickety

And my daughter telling me to lay off the sodium as

Her daughter plays in my living room,

As I reminisce to her mother how

My daughter used to play with that same doll

When she was a little girl,

Eating cheerios at my counter

As I got ready for work,

And my children's father,

Now old,

No longer in dress pants

Sits in his “spot”

An old recliner chair,

Talking to my son and his son

About a game

Or the weather

Or his old pal

My ideal life is a family I built for myself

The ability and belief to live past 15

A warm, cozy house

In a dual-income household

So my children never worry

And my parents don't have to buy them necessities for Christmas

slam poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

Caroline Mckenna

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jacob Sherman2 years ago

    Speaks powerfully and eloquently to the worth of a "normal," life. Too few people seem to acknowledge it these days. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.