Poets logo

Mother

Strong Woman by Jessie Wendy Jones

By Jessie JonesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

You were my staunch and unwavering lifeline.

Starting from the umbilical cord to the present time.

You were like sustenance for my unripe soul.

You nourished and sustained me, until I was ready to behold.

Without you, Mother, my life would've soon declined!

Thank heaven you were always around.

You were like steel you were my shield,

Strong indeed in spirit but also genteel-

Like a sturdy cloak, warm, soft, and gentle-

Soild protection you provided; my mantle divine.

You kept harm away; your motto was, "I will

Always take care of what is mine!"

Yes, Mother, you nurtured me from a baby,

And you raised me to love God and be saved.

As my life progressed, you stressed the simple things,

And the joy they bring.

You are responsible for my earthly existence,

For me you've gone above and beyond the distance,

Mother, I never had to ask for anything,

You knew what I needed with God's Word you heeded.

Always in due season you planted love and seeded understanding.

In this perfect love for me was retrieved.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jessie Jones

I am a graduate of Troy University with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Psychology. I have suffered more pain in my life than most; however, writing takes me on a spiritual journey of creating and helping others through my experiences

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Jessie Jones is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.