Poets logo

May 8th, Her Birthday

an acrostic

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
6
Photo Credit: Moritz Böing from Pexels

Endings aren’t sad. So I tell myself to love

closed doors, locked windows, and stopped clocks

like I crave your embrace in still midwinter.

In two weeks, I will be staring at a closed lid and

pulse my hands beneath my thighs. I will watch the

second hand move as her family enters the door,

ellipsing the not-sad ending like ants. Then, I will smell spring rain through a wide-open pane.

         

         

A/N: Addressed to someone different than the "her" who died.

Acrostic
6

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlie williams10 days ago

    Nice work

  • "pulse my hands beneath my thighs" Omgggg, that line hit me so hard! Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Joe O’Connor10 days ago

    Striking imagery and full of feeling, this one. The contrast between a locked window and a wide-open pane is neat, and the picture of a grieving family as ants, showing how life goes on, is powerful🙌

  • Teresa Renton10 days ago

    ‘pulse my hands beneath my thighs’ was such a strong image for me, and I loved ‘ellipsing the not-sad ending like ants’. The last line was just simple and beautiful, a lovely portrayal of detachment from the ceremonies of sadness 💕

  • Hannah Moore11 days ago

    I love the nuance in this, holding loss and life at once.

  • Poppy 11 days ago

    This is gorgeously written but heartbreakingly sad. “ So I tell myself to love closed doors, locked windows, and stopped clocks like I crave your embrace in still midwinter.” Wow, breathtaking

  • Alexander McEvoy11 days ago

    Wow... you return to us, out of the great void of the real world, and you bring with you such amazing gifts, Mackenzie Claus! Thank you so much for this poem. Personally, the line that struck the most with me was "like I crave your embrace in the cold midwinter" Just... damn... you really hit me hard in the feels. Lying alone on the cold midwinter nights this past snowy season was hard. I'd never known that a winter night could be lonely before but after having someone to share it with the previous winter... I finally know what that's like. That line hit me so hard, I don't think I'll be able to properly explain it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.