Poets logo

Repentance or Salvation

an acrostic

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
11
Repentance or Salvation
Photo by Brands&People on Unsplash

Exposed to a relentless cosmos, my skin recognizes defeat,

content to char and crumble off bleached-blue bone that is wet

like mirage. Lovely, I am not what you wanted.

Indecent ingrate at the beginning, but look at me now,

parched and not wanting for anything

save the blister I know will heal in crystal darkness.

Eagle spread, the dunes warm me, my eyes scream silent. The no-moon takes its place.

Acrostic
11

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenny Penn5 days ago

    Powerful and heart wrenching. Is this a goodbye poem? It felt that way. “-save the blister I know will heal-“ really spoke to me. I loved this piece, Mackenzie

  • Poppy 6 days ago

    This is so raw and powerful. "Lovely, I am not what you wanted. Indecent ingrate at the beginning, but look at me now, parched and not wanting for anything save the blister I know will heal in crystal darkness." I love it!

  • Joe O’Connor9 days ago

    I’ll be honest, I’m lost on this one Mackenzie😂. It feels like someone saying goodbye to a partne, clothed in images of nature. But as always, you conjure such vivid imagery! “content to char and crumble off bleached-blue bone” is so evocative.

  • Please never apologise for publishing. We love reading your writing. Also, this is another sad one. I hope you're okay ❤️🥺

  • Hannah Moore10 days ago

    This feels like a kind of crucifixion

  • Charlie williams10 days ago

    Nice

  • Brin J.10 days ago

    This tugged at my soul. It sounds so full of sorrow with reluctant acceptance. Indeed, as Paul said, it is sad, but you made something truly poignant here.

  • Paul Stewart10 days ago

    This is wonderful...well...maybe not wonderful in content...but in creation!

  • Sorry for the overwhelm of entries, everyone. I had a backlog, clearly. This challenge is proving too fun for me to stop! Will be posting more throughout the day, but only because I want to enter them, not because you have to read them, lol.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.