Poets logo

Coward, Unforgiving

Stubborn in Loss

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
8
Photo Credit: David Prasad, "San Joaquin River Trail," Flickr

Each time I dream of you, I wonder at God.

Conjuring it now, I can’t say I’m withered in California soil, more

listing toward it, thirsty, admiring your steadfast faith.

I am almost ready to return.

Pray the canyon takes me back, and the girl with golden hair

swimming in a valley lake living fine without me.

Enter in, shade-self. I’ve been changed across the looking-glass of dreams.

Acrostic
8

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 7 days ago

    Ahhhhh, another masterpiece. I keep not realising these are eclipse acrostics because they just seem so natural and not confined by any rules. This is so alluring and mysterious. My favourite part is: "Pray the canyon takes me back, and the girl with golden hair swimming in a valley lake living fine without me."

  • This was so heartbreaking 🥺 Are you okay? Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Hannah Moore10 days ago

    It's painful, what our subconscious keeps doing to us. This made it lovely, too.

  • Joe O’Connor10 days ago

    I’m still thinking on the title and subtitle, which made me immediately think along the lines of a relationship, but combined with the picture and acrostic, it feels like someone longing for a past self, maybe someone they left behind? They want to return and are ready to, but they’re changed. Not sure haha 🤷🏽‍♂️ But that’s what came to me😊

  • Andrei Z.10 days ago

    the last line - 💙

  • Heather Hubler10 days ago

    Wow, this was raw and bleeding. Beautifully penned :)

  • Lana V Lynx10 days ago

    "Shade-self" is pretty heartbreaking. The last line is a masterpiece.

  • Paul Stewart10 days ago

    My heart. My heart. This is incredible, with sadness.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.