Poets logo

Heartbreak as Eclipse

On My Behalf

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 12 days ago Updated 11 days ago 1 min read
17
Photo Credit: Samuel Krevitt, "Box in Oval Light," 1935, Library of Congress

Entreat the star for darkness, please (oh please); I am

craving candlelight but everyone wants the sun and its warmth.

Leave it off. This migraine is the weight of a million lightyears

interwoven now with who I am (and wish to be). I am begging,

please, for you to entreat the star for darkness, for twilight, for cover.

Search the sky for some great body of shade, if only for a minute, to

engulf me in crescent-shaped pain that I can put in a box [and smile].

Acrostic
17

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 days ago

    Wow Mackenzie... this felt kind of heavy but also relatable! That feeling when you just want some peace but have other obligations, comes to mind for me. Great piece here!!

  • Poppy 11 days ago

    “ I am craving candlelight but everyone wants the sun and its warmth.” Those are such masterful, powerful lines. I’ve really really missed your writing!! This was incredible and that ending was especially impactful!

  • Kenny Penn11 days ago

    Truly missed your writing, Mackenzie. This one was breathtakingly beautiful in imagery and emotion

  • Alexander McEvoy12 days ago

    This poem was just beautiful, Mackenzie! I especially loved the line "engulf me in crescent-shaped pain that I can put in a box and smile." It's that use of smile that really sticks with me. I know all too well how it feels to put pain in a box, no matter its shape and smile through another day. Hope you're doing well and thank you for the wonderful poem!

  • Teresa Renton12 days ago

    Beautiful longing for softness, a quiet pain that we need to embrace in heartache, when we’re not ready to face well-meaning jazz hands. ‘ engulf me in crescent-shaped pain’ was just a gorgeous if sad image. I thought of how a body bends into a crescent when in pain 💕

  • Paul Stewart12 days ago

    Magnificent...hope you're not feeling too bad though! This is stunning!

  • Joe O’Connor12 days ago

    I really like this one, and the yearning for quiet and softness. Sometimes light can be far too harsh, and we just want “darkness, for twilight, for cover”. The triple caught my eye as I read, and the contrasting of candles vs the sun is clever, as opposed to simply light and dark🤗

  • This was so poignantly beautiful! Loved your Acrostic!

  • Hannah Moore12 days ago

    Spot on. Literally and figuratively I guess!

  • Magnificent, especially that last line. And that picture-- so mysterious-- how did you find that??

  • Grz Colm12 days ago

    ☺️👏

  • Krishan Mubashar12 days ago

    Well written!

  • Well written! Good job!

  • Shirley Belk12 days ago

    Mackenzie I love the pleading for softness

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.