Poets logo

Morning

ready, or not, here it comes

By Randy BakerPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
image generated by author using Midjourney

Morning

Brings sunbeams

squeezing through closed blinds

stabbing into my eyelids

like little light darts

aimed with precision

at my still-sleeping brain.

Time to wake up.

A new day with new possibilities

awaits, tempting me with its promises

but they sound like tired lies.

Just as I decide to roll over

and press my face into the pillow

to simulate the dark of night

the alarm sounds like too many trumpets

blaring in proclamation of the day’s cavalcade

of self-important people and events.

Grudgingly, I pry open my eyes

with the force of a dozen mental crowbars.

My head lolls toward the clock

and that’s when it hits me. ~ ~ ~ Monday.

Down comes my fist

like a gavel pronouncing judgment.

The verdict:

snooze.

Free Verse

About the Creator

Randy Baker

Poet, author, essayist.

Follow me on X

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Lindsay Sfara4 months ago

    Mondays, man. It's a mood. Love this poem!

  • Susan Fourtané4 months ago

    I love it! Great image as well.

  • Wow! Best! I love it!

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    I hate the snooze button. Like a false promise...;)

Randy BakerWritten by Randy Baker

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.