Poets logo

moon

(love)

By Sara Published 12 days ago 1 min read

he loved me like the moon.

sometimes it was full,

almost milky

and it spilled light

all over my skies.

other nights i could not find him

and i wondered if he was in there

behind the storm in his eyes.

he’d dig his nails into my skin

hold my lips between his teeth

grasp my throat tightly

like he forgot i was there.

he loved me like the moon,

only until the sun broke the dawn

when he would roll over

and forget the words he whispered in my ear

when the sky was black

and the stars burned.

i do not know if he loved me at all.

art

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Silver Serpent Books12 days ago

    I love how this one contrasted with your other one about the sun. They both tell such heartbreaking stories.

  • That was so heartbreaking. Loved your poem!

Sara  Written by Sara

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.