Poets logo

Fair Food

A child tries new things

By Barb DukemanPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
Fair Food
Photo by Brandi Alexandra on Unsplash

Would you like to taste the sky?

Does it taste like blue or pink?

It tastes like clouds that rise so high.

I'd like to try it, I do think.

It's cotton candy, sugary sweet.

It feels like mushy sticky goo.

Do try it, dear, it's such a tasty treat.

I'm not sure; I don't know what to do.

I'll try it first; it's good - you'll see.

You use your fingers? it's so sticky.

I pinch a bit, a tiny bit maybe.

Ok, I'll try it even though I'm picky.

Mmm this fluffy candy is the best.

You're right, Mom, I'm eating a cloud.

I knew you'd love it - you'll attest.

This pink and blue don't taste so loud.

Is there anything else you'd like to try?

What exactly is an elephant's ear?

A taste of heaven, by and by

But will the elephant lose his cheer?

Oh, my Dearest, this is dough that's fried.

Tell me more about a corndog.

I promise you it's not what you assume

It's on a stick, a tiny brownish log?

It's my favorite fair food to consume.

Mommy, please, my tummy isn't right.

Oh, no, our treats were not as I had planned.

My tummy feels like bubbles in a fight.

It's time to go now; come and take my hand.

Familychildrens poetry

About the Creator

Barb Dukeman

After 32 years of teaching high school English, I've started writing again and loving every minute of it. I enjoy bringing ideas to life and the concept of leaving behind a legacy.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Barb Dukeman (Author)9 days ago

    I love how cotton candy just disappears in my mouth but a kaleidoscope of flavor is left behind.

Barb DukemanWritten by Barb Dukeman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.