Poets logo

Cerberus

A Conversation in Hell

By Barb DukemanPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
Cerberus
Photo by Ybrayym Esenov on Unsplash

Cerberus, you mastiff hound from Hell

I come out at night to walk the earth

I hear your three deformed heads' death knell

My soul is that of a demon given birth

Do you know the minds you share with strife?

We share the same derelict body of sin

Do you share the blood, the mercury of life?

We have no need to see the vessel we're in

To you, the head that leans unto the left

My cataract eyes yet foam and weep

I ask of you to speak some truth bereft

I close my eyes heavy with sleep

The bloated face, can you possibly know

I see no innocence of those near my jaws

Will you wrongly deal the fatal blow

My vile thoughts defeat your cause

To you, the most fierce and rabid of all

My face in caustic bile looms...

Can you contain the guilty flesh withal

I wake ghosts from their tombs

I sense your fear, you heads of cancer three

Our reeking breath taints the most impure

Your air so foul - does it give you liberty?

Where is your salvation? Where lies your cure?

I call on You, angelic embodiment of Truth

You cannot oppose us, three the beast

I call on You, Truth, use deadly Verity forsooth

Injustice ended? Your nightmares never cease.

You evil cur, immortal in the underworld,

We'll find another family to shred.

I have enigmatic Truth as shield and sword,

We'll never lose; your will as good as dead.

surreal poetrysocial commentaryfact or fiction

About the Creator

Barb Dukeman

After 32 years of teaching high school English, I've started writing again and loving every minute of it. I enjoy bringing ideas to life and the concept of leaving behind a legacy.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • D.K. Shepard10 days ago

    Really cool concept for a dialogue poem! And very well executed. Nicely done, Barb!

Barb DukemanWritten by Barb Dukeman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.