Poets logo

Miracles That Happen (only) at Dawn

Strike two stones together and the dawn is born

By Mesh ToraskarPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
31

I wanted to breathe so I opened the door

to a stranger’s car parked in a field

and the world was small again.

Fog filled in through the cracked

window as if dawn and masked my only way back

to my father. It’s okay the stranger said

he’s only your father

until one of you forgets.

‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ ‎

So when the sky appeared, bloodshot

red as god’s eye pressed down on me

searing my shadow onto the sweetgrass

my skin calm with

submission, I was suddenly

more,

in hope and in words and to be more

is to be a dissolving prayer, ready for extinction.

‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ ‎

So I ran, ran into the light

enough to drown in but never enough,

always empty and holy

as a new word stopping only to

dance, even when the music stopped just to feel

my knees weak with

autumn. Terrified of being good

only sometimes but being loved always.

The day opened the size of my fist,

which is to say it could finally hold

my heart and my eyes were wet still

blue from last night because

this field turned my pain into

poppies & honestly, what a blessing.

‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ ‎

I see a void and call it longing but

no one told me that at the end of it

I’ll always find a tongue, that limits of my language

are the limits of my being. I am wrong often but I too

need a place to hold myself. That my back was never

meant to be bulletproof but to shimmer

at the sight of the decadent sunlight. That I can be touched

by alcohol and still be true. That to want something else

is just to be human. So it’s okay. There’s time.

Time which folds on itself like the page

from my favourite book, pointing towards the good.

So it’s okay. It’s too soon to know the meaning of my hands.

‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ ‎ ‎

No one was free without breaking open.

inspirationalsurreal poetry
31

About the Creator

Mesh Toraskar

A wannabe storyteller from London. Sometimes words spill out of me and the only way to mop the spillage is to write them down.

"If you arrive here, remember, it wasn't you - it was me, in my longing, who found you."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Lovely as Mckenzie says. One gets lost in the words and journey.

  • Teresa Renton7 months ago

    Congratulations for your TS! This was a moving reflective poem that cleverly visited the myriad of emotions that emptiness and uncertainty can bring. Simultaneously, I saw glimmers of hope and acceptance. The symbolism was expertly moulded into the poem’s narrative—sometimes with deceptive simplicity, as in the first stanza, other times, with rich complexities eg. my back was never meant to be bulletproof but to shimmer at the sight of the decadent sunlight. That I can be touched … this suggested that there is beauty in opening ourselves up, to rendering ourselves vulnerable, because it allows us to be ‘touched’. I loved the dissolving prayer image; I saw it as a positive image because to dissolve into something means to become part of it, part of something bigger than ourselves. I’m sure I could sit with this poem more, could say so much more, but you get the gist … I love it 🤷‍♀️😍

  • Story Room7 months ago

    This is simply beautiful! What else can I say! Congrats on Top Story..

  • Michèle Nardelli7 months ago

    This is lovely -

  • What an absolutely gorgeous poem full to bursting with complex emotions. Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Joe Patterson7 months ago

    Very inspiring. Congratulations on your top story.

  • Gerald Holmes7 months ago

    This is simply beautiful! What else can I say! Congrats on Top Story.

  • Great job on this one📝♥️💯🧡🍁👍Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

  • Sara Frederick7 months ago

    Nice!

  • Brenton F7 months ago

    I have read this more than ten times now and there is so much brilliance all through it! A highly deserved Top Story!

  • M7 months ago

    Your poem is beautiful! So surreal and deep.

  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    This right here in incredible! Blown away I am! Congrats on Top Story and penning such a masterpiece!

  • Joelle E🌙7 months ago

    🥹🥹🥹✨ you are unbelievable! What a talent 👏🏼

  • Alexander McEvoy7 months ago

    Beautifully written and cleverly evoked

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    Yay!!!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Congrats on the TS. Well deserved.

  • Cendrine Marrouat7 months ago

    Mesh, your poetry is always so multi-layered that I never know what to expect. And it's great, because many poets are so predictable these days. I was at my local bookstore today, and found Rupi Kur's famous book. I opened it and within two minutes, put it back where I had found it. People like her are overrated, while people like you deserve a huge audience. You don't just have a knack for words, but you also reinvent impactful poetry with every piece you publish. Please don't stop.

  • your subtitle made for a long pause of reflection…. ! Brilliant work Mesh 👌🕊️🙏🤍

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Tenebrous and eldritch! Great job!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Wow. This is amazing. Every line made me stop and take a breath. Bravo.

  • Powerfully poignant, Mesh, capturing the sodden guilt of succumbing again to dissipation, wondering if you've burned too many bridges, being good only sometimes while always being loved (praying that's true), only to find glorious reassurance in the breaking of dawn, the breaking of your heart, the breaking of your soul &, at least for the moment, the breaking of these bonds. That's all you can do, one moment at a time, one day at a time.

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Well, I need to let this wash over me and erode my prose brain for a time. But holy shit, Mesh, wowowow. I wasn't expecting a more positive poem from you! This is a good thing to behold. "The day opened the size of my fist, which is to say it could finally hold my heart and my eyes were wet still blue from last night because this field turned my pain into poppies & honestly, what a blessing." OMG I've not seen such a profound metaphor for sleep before. These lines are astonishing. Rest assured, I will return to this. But goddamn.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.