Poets logo

Minority Report

Two Senryūs

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 2 min read
17
Minority Report
Photo by Ben Sweet on Unsplash

Minority Report (2002 film)

Laughably rendered,

over-wrought spectacle. Please

just read the story.

                         

Minority Report (Short Story by Philip K. Dick)

Conspiracy? No.

Yes! No…? Free will means choice. (What?

Forget the precogs.)

           

              

A/N

I tried to watch Minority Report last night but it absolutely sucked. Once the jetpack chase scene commenced, the tone immediately degraded from drama to comedy. I had no way back into the film; they killed it right then. What followed was a weird, drawn out Lexus commercial and then a super cringey scene between Tom Cruise's Anderton and Lois Smith's Hineman. Suffice to say, I didn't watch further. When reading the remaining plot online, I learned just how much had yet to happen. Consider my mind blown by poor storyboarding decisions.

Some accuse sci-fi of being too complex. I blame the filmmakers who adapt perfectly sensible sci-fi stories into messes like this.

If, by chance, you like Minority Report, please help me understand why. 😂

As to P.K.D.'s story, it's extremely well-written. It raises very complicated and important questions about pre-determination and free-will, and manages to showcase a character arc that many modern narratives lack. For being a reactive character for much of the plot, Anderton ends up sacrificing his morals to protect his own ideas of justice and the good of society. Sure, he gets to leave Earth with his wife afterward, but no one said he was a good guy.

I was left wondering what Dick's opinion of free-will was, though. Despite the ethics of Precrime being questioned, it's ultimately protected by Anderton's actions. To his mind, only someone in his position (director of the Precrime department) could have been set up like he was because only someone with access to the visions would be able to alter them. But doesn't that still imply that informing predicted criminals of their fate could change their mind?

The last line of my second senryū, "Forget the precogs" is meant to evoke this question in the reader. If free will depends on choice, ie., making informed decisions, then the precogs are slaves, and intentionally ignorant slaves at that. Did they have any choice in what their lives have become? Can they quit? Thus, the system is founded on forced ignorance (precogs and majority reports) to enact justice. Much like our current society. If we don't know the law, they can enforce it however they want, right? As long as it's "in our best interests."

Whatever that means.

                  

Oh! This was for Matthew Fromm's fun challenge! See more below:

Senryu
17

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Matthew Fromm4 months ago

    man I really need to read that one!

  • Kenny Penn4 months ago

    This review had me cracking up. Mackenzie. I remember watching the film and thought it was good, but I'd never read the book. Didn't know there was one! Your review kind of has me thinking about how I felt watching the original adaptation of Stephen King's, "IT". Really sucked, but so many people thought it was great. The book is 100x better than either of the films

  • A. Lenae4 months ago

    This review is wonderful. I remember enjoying the movie years and years ago, but now I think it might have been due to the powerful storyline and ethical questions from the book, rather than the flashiness of the movie. BUT I remembered immediately the huge presence of the Lexus, so that definitely made an impact. Love your perspective!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    See I have not read the book...but used to like the film...and the philosophical questions it raises. I have read some Philip K. Dick and although they are straightforward enough...normally...I can see why some people struggle with transforming them into movies and TV shows...so many have failed even worse than this. This review does make me think I need to go to the source material to get a fuller idea. Loved your senyru's, though, lol.

  • ROCK 4 months ago

    I have not seen Minority Report or read anything about it but this review was hilarious. I will check to see if it's available to watch in Sweden yet. However, something says, "nah".

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Evidently the writing and the movie made very different impressions!

  • I've neither watched nor read this. I usually prefer books compared to movies so I'm adding this to my TBR but not my watchlist, lol. I love things that are thought provoking. I especially loved when you said intentionally ignorant slaves. Definitely food for thought! Loved your Senryus!

  • Never watched the movie or read the book. Just wanted to support the words you wrote. Keep it up, boss!

  • What did you expect? It's Tom Cruise. (Okay, my wife & I both like virtually everything he's in. We're just not that fond of him.) I have not read the story, but in the movie the precogs end up freed to live out their lives in pastoral seclusion & precrime is finished. The crime Tom's character is predicted by two out of the three precogs is to kill the director of precrime, which he decides he needs to do only because he's been pegged by precrime for it. (It's a loop that can only exist in this alternate kind of universe.) But when the moment arrives & he has his chance, he decides against it, demonstrating unequivocally the possibility of error in the system.

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Intriguing! It’s been a while since I’ve seen it but I use to like it, I have not read the story yet. Great ideas after your Senryu.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    I haven't seen it. Your review makes me not want too. Lol

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    You've gone and piqued the interest of my inner philosopher! Definitely have to add this one to the TBR pile :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.