Poets logo

[Emotion], Untranslated

a poem

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
16
[Emotion], Untranslated
Photo by Matthieu Oger on Unsplash

I am sure, somewhere

there are mountains and hills

dissolving into a basin of clouds

And I am sure that rain

descends like a chisel,

forming salt-falls in the runoff

Tears of the earth, abandoned.

                

I am sure, somewhere,

remnants of floods

ice the ground like hard slabs

of headstones — sealed, barren.

False seeds and storms arrive

on the wind of wildfires

              

flickering out to blue. But I sit

at the window pane

and watch languorous grasses

sway with the curtains

as Handel makes his way to me,

                   

“Lascia ch'io pianga

Mia cruda sorte,

E che sospiri

La libertà.”

                

That I should have freedom

in the yellow of dandelions,

rich with ocean glitter and clear

violet…There is sunlight warm

as bread here and my eyes

taste the restless wind.

                

“Il duolo infranga

Queste ritorte,

De' miei martiri

Sol per pietà.”

                   

I ask for mercy, this

my answer:

                         

Were I to stop

forever, I’d feel the western

breezes pulse my blouse

like an inhale

and let me weep into that ending,

                 

a single breath.

                   

                   

                   

***

A/N: Translations of the Italian. From Handel's Rinaldo, "Lascia ch'io pianga."

"Let me weep

My cruel fate,

And that I

should have freedom.

               

"The duel infringes

within these twisted places,

in my sufferings

I pray for mercy."

               

***

For Poppy's Prompts:

Free Verse
16

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 4 months ago

    AAHHHHHHH I was so excited to see what I thought was Italian and then you translated it! This was gorgeous

  • Andrei Z.4 months ago

    Now, I'm listening to Handel's Rinaldo. Interesting, he incorporated "Lascia ch'io pianga" in his several operas. I wonder why, I mean it's a bit of cheating :D

  • Catherine Dorian4 months ago

    The Italian whispers between each of your stanzas with such grace. The reader can feel the poet feeling Handel's words as she feels her own. This reminds me a lot of the relationship between place and language. Beautifully done.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Gorgeous. I'm interested in how you use the wind and the water. It feels like wind is a restless intention, like a directionless yearning, where water is purposeful power.

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    Oh but this was lovely, Mackenzie! I had never considered including snippets of other poems in your own poetry! That's such a wonderful idea! You really blow my entry out of the water! This is just... I don't have the poetry skills to describe how much I loved this, or the images that it put in my head. But I loved every line of this poem, and adored how it all flowed and came together!

  • Kenny Penn4 months ago

    Gorgeous! Really enjoyed the imagery and flow of this poem, Mackenzie! Very well done! Makes me think about all the things we take for granted every day

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    Ahhhh I LOVE IT! Obviously. I want to copy and paste all my favourite lines but that would literally be the entire thing. I swear I've been in withdrawal from your poetry 😭. This was so worth the wait. I love the idea of including excerpts from another poem and especially of a different language. You carried it out perfectly too. Literally everything about this poem was gorgeous. I think that ending might have to be my favourite part though!

  • LC Minniti4 months ago

    Exquisite! You have a lyrical way with words. The english parts even ebbs and flows with the Italian. Like a song. Well done!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    My word, Mackenzie. You see...it's when you produce stunning...art...like this...word pictures painted so vividly...such an impeccable and unique use of language that you are not allowed to doubt yourself. This is spectacular. I love the Italian and Handel parts...love that you gave translation...even though I googled it so I could read your poem and understand it. This makes me feel a little sad...the poem itself. it's beautiful and as people have notced...the rain descending like a chisel...the last section...stirring stuff. Even this bit...I adored: "Were I to stop forever, I’d feel the western breezes pulse my blouse like an inhale and let me weep into that ending, a single breath." My word, breeze pulsing at you, like an inhale. just...well done, Mackenzie!

  • Oooo, I learnt a new word today, languorous! Your poem was so melancholic and poignantly beautiful! So glad you provided the translations as well!

  • Natalie Wilkinson4 months ago

    "And I am sure that rain descends like a chisel, forming salt-falls in the runoff Tears of the earth, abandoned." I love these lines- rain descending like a chisel.

  • Beautifully & majestically spoken, Mackenzie. This may have risen to the top for me of all those I've read for her prompt.

  • Lovely… “ Evenings that start at 4 in the afternoon and Forests shocked white.” I did Italian in school, too long ago… glad you translated for us… nice flavour with it.

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Lovely work and a bit of Handel. ☺️👏

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    "That I should have freedom in the yellow of dandelions, rich with ocean glitter and clear violet. There is sunlight warm as bread here and my eyes taste the restless wind." What a picture you paint. Just a magical, mournful masterpiece. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.