Poets logo

Midnight Moon

Wanderings

By SchmalzPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
2
Midnight Moon
Photo by Bryan Goff on Unsplash

I woke up after midnight

And thought I'd drift awhile

Packed a bag sipped the whiskey too

I'm going to visit that midnight moon

Cause it shines like sun in the afternoon

Shine on moon and take away my blues

Don't think I'll be coming back soon

I don't have anything left to lose

Just the bag that I packed and a worn out shoe

Think I'll walk on down the line

Grown tired of being the losing kind

Follow the moon and hoping to find

Anything to keep the light

So strike a match and light the candle too

Cause I'm feeling all alone

But I won't lose my way

Long as moon shines till the break of day

And put the candle in the window

This time I'm coming back to stay

Shine on moon and lead the way

Just so I can see the light

love poems
2

About the Creator

Schmalz

Welcome to my page! I am a writer whose interests are vast and believes in the art of the word. In my writing you will find Non-Fiction, Fiction, and poetry in pursuit of the value of language.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • k eleanor4 months ago

    It's beautiful. I Loved it!

  • This was so stunning! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.