Poets logo

Leaving Today

Wanderings

By SchmalzPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1
Leaving Today
Photo by Mantas Hesthaven on Unsplash

I packed my bags up yesterday

No reason left for me to stay

Nothing left dreary days

This time I'm going far to stay

Been gone for years in my mind

And I stayed so long to hang around

But my hearts been drifting far away

May my last words to you feel kind

Cause I'm leaving today

That great white desert is heavy on my mind

There all my gold will be found

Leave this old life far behind

Cause this town is just ain't my kind

I'm leaving home today

Cause my mind is dreaming far away

And I don't have any words left to say

I;m going to the hot desert today

May you think of me as kind

All my riches I will be soon to find

And when that desert moon is high in the sky

We both can sit and ponder why

That hot sand is where I'm bound

Since my mind has dreamt so far away

Maybe one day I will come back to stay

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Schmalz

Welcome to my page! I am a writer whose interests are vast and believes in the art of the word. In my writing you will find Non-Fiction, Fiction, and poetry in pursuit of the value of language.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani4 months ago

    Kinda empowering and hopeful! Lovely piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.