Poets logo

Midnight

Sky

By HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)Published 4 months ago 12 min read
8
Photo by me @handsomelouii

WHEN THE SMOKE CLEARS;

Don’t forget to look around! I Heard someone shout from the Kitchen...Long-standing and dishwashing all evening a lot of inmates are getting jobs in the kitchen. I couldn’t wait until my shift was done, then I’d go back to the dormitory and “Shower”

A new inmate was working as a cook and “oh, boy” things got “Smokey.” Walking back I took deep breaths to calm my nerves which wasn’t working but me being a “recalcitrant boy” I counted. Inhale(123) hold(1234)exhale (56789)...

March wasn’t my favorite month Mainly because of the weather.

Something has been on my mind after Earlier in the Kitchen.

This Decision wasn’t Like The Others I’ve had in The Past.

Here I lay up-top on my Bunk, Trying to Envision myself anywhere else other than “The Joint “

Watching the Midnight sky like it was a cinema through a very slim kind of rectangular window.

So how about i rewind the story before I was faced with this decision and how it came about… okay “PAY ATTENTION “ READ CAREFULLY AND “PROCEED WITH CAUTION”

IN THE CHOW HALL!

OKAY IMAGINE BEING ON CAMPUS EVERYONE IS HUNGRY FINALLY CLASS IS OVER AFTER SO MUCH ENDLESS NOTE TAKING AND LEARNING. Darting to the Cafeteria steered by Angry stomachs. Standing in line sometimes nausea arrives because of the Bad breathe of inmates who we’re excited to see other inmates so they chatted nonstop and Starvation never had patience.

A fight erupted and a Bombardment of Correction officers flooded the area. We all amassed to face the nearest wall with our hands above our heads.

“Drop your pants “ I heard in my right ear Over my shoulder stood a tall “Officer. Everyone got the same treatment. So this had turned out to be something just bigger than a fight. Other inmates were saying that people were looting bundles of food and taking them back to the Dorms also selling them for things from other inmates! I establish that to be true later on in the story! Okay after all was said and done finally back in line waiting in line to make it upfront to receive a small child like meal.

I noticed a stare coming from across the cafeteria, beaming on me like a stream of light glaring from the sunlight bouncing off the frame of a mirrored glass. I think we caught eye contact and shared a full body scan correlated moment, but my vision was 16/19 so I’m not certain if He was Staring at me so I diffidently looked the other way to act if I hadn’t noticed his stare. I collected my tray and fruit and Milk. Looking straight ahead I started walking toward the nearest available empty table. Talking to a few of the funny comedian inmates from the dormitory was a great distraction. We all signed up for work and that was the Topic of our chat while eating “State Food.” We talked about being in the position to work in the kitchen and get extra food.

Between The Angry Guard and Chattering Inmates, It always took longer coming into the chow hall, then it did leaving. I stole a closer look at him as I passed the Tray Area headed for the Exit. I’m not sure if he was a vampire but he sensed me passing bye and looked up at me. Swerving my head around I pretended to be in mid conversation leaving the Chow Hall, Who was this guy?

Okay so I was pretending to be a straight Guy talking with my man voice obviously it was working, before this guy appeared and stared at me in a customary way like somebody that I use to know. I swore to myself to never have another relationship with a criminal. Why was he scoping me out? Ugh how did he see through me? I didn’t want to see this guy again Thinking to myself “maybe I should discover more things to do.”

I hung out with a few other new Guys. we stayed close because what we had in common was that we were “Fresh meat.” The only option we had was to work the kitchen being new here and I needed the money and extra food.

To my surprise out of the clique we formed I was the first to get called for work. I wanted to see where I’d be working so I could prepare myself, but when I found out that I would be in the Chow Hall's “incisive emotion had flown all through me. Thinking to myself “oh boy was this going to be interesting.”

Stranger Danger )

Arriving at the chow Hall, I stood near the entrance unsure of where to go. I was approached by a older African American guy, “Hey I’m Joe” he said I’m one of the shift leaders are you new here? Yes, quickly I Replied trying not to sound defiant. He looked like a Heavier version of “Kevin Hart” with an Oversized Afro. Directing me to a table with sign in sheets I quickly started to write my name and proceeded to the other Area of the Chow Hall. The whole time my mind was fixed on whether or not I would see him; Remembering where I had seen him and My mind becoming immutable on wanting to walk by…

Going into the restroom I took a quick glance to the right “ oh dang, he’s not working today “ I murmured. I guess that was cool and conveys my nerves a little breakthrough for the day. I splashed myself in the face with water. Staring into the mirror and looking at myself, I imagined what I would say to him if he had apparently come to work today, and perhaps approached me. I had actually felt relief “Why was I even thought about him.”
Coming out of the restroom I scanned the whole area looking around in search of an empty table, I modeled alone.

Astounded by a voice behind I turned and my startled eyes met his eyes... for a gaze that seemed like a lifetime. I blinked “Hello, “he said “My name is Trey, like “Trey Songz” or “Lunch tray,” he said ending with a smile. Without hesitation, I said “Hey” That was the only word I could squeeze out...

“How are you?” Can I join you? He continued... but before I could respond he sat across from me, arms resting on the table leaning towards me he said “I didn’t get your name” I was slim about 5’7 African American, and 23 years of age also medium Peanut Butter brown skin with a low hair cut. My first time in prison and I never thought of meeting a soulmate in here. We stared silently at Each-other for 3 sec before I finally said “My Name is, “Lovely” He gave out an erupting laugh and said, “Okay, lovely that’s a lovely name.” So did your grandma name you?” “We’ll perhaps she did,” I said with a half smile. We chatted about Family and music etc…The conversation actually was Great, I’ve never learned so much about a person in such little time, we both wanted to continue the conversation when abruptly we were interrupted by a shift leader “Hey, Trey you and you're new pal better get to work” the heavily bearded man said while looking at us both.”

Trey asked if we could chat again on our 15 min break which was an hour or 2 from now, I said “Maybe” although I really wanted to say yes immediately I sashayed away!

Forcing myself to not think of him while I worked was hardly easy, His utterances flowed into my thoughts like poetry. His singing voice was so nice and he even convinced me to sing not to brag but I was an awesome singer with my experience of being in 2 choirs and yes one was church.

Going on break I sat at the same table from earlier, turning towards the window trying to seem occupied; with a bundle of curiosity in my stomach I wanted to see him walking towards me. I wanted to speak with him again. No way could I become close to this Strange Guy. I sat patiently waiting for his arrival and withdrew from my eagerness dictation.

He didn’t show up, oh maybe he was busy! I thought to myself…while finishing up my Lunch.

After my lunch break, I was Heading Towards the Back, and I Heard a noise rumbling from a small room down a short narrow hallway. Curiosity led me down the hall towards the door, so While entering the room I could hear the Dryer spinning With a rumble making the dryer shake Loudly! “Hey,” a familiar voice said from inside the room. “Oh Hello,” I responded.

“ They have me doing the laundry, but I'll be done soon”. Feeling like perhaps I was at the wrong place at the erroneous time, I took a step backwards getting ready to flee the room when he stepped towards me and kissed me softly and tauntingly Beautiful… just seconds later someone Entered through the door a Short older looking man maybe mid 30s. “No need to stop what y’all doing for me.” The man moved up against my backside and wrapped his arms around me, while pulling “Trey” closer gripping his hands. “Hold up” I yelped while sliding from in between the two of them. “I’m not into this,” I said.

“We’ll no need to worry we’ve done this before”. The man said while proceeding with a kiss on Trey's lips.

I turned with a sudden shocking adrenaline rushing over me like waves. Overwhelmed From what I’m seeing… Wow, He’s kissing this Dude! Thinking to myself (The way they were kissing was like out of a movie when you know that it’s taking off further than First base!

Why had he been so busy striving to know me? I Ran away hoping to never see them again...

The next day I tried avoiding him and I wasn’t a success. He arrived so Handsome and Charming! I divulged into the conversation with him. Seeing how intricate he was, I demanded an explanation. I wasn’t going to miss 1 question about every thing that was floating through my head. “If your just having sex with Random guys here I’m not interested in dealing with you” I said flat out. Everything else came out as a blur... although I remember him nodding his head a few times in accord and Understanding. In my mind, I agreed to never speak to him again. With the conversation Coming to an Ending he said “If we were dating I wouldn’t expect you to share me, I would be all yours” he continued... I didn’t know what else to say so, I left the conversation with silence. I asked myself how can I make the day move faster. All day he walked past me with apologetic Eyes that I couldn’t exactly escape.

@@@@@@@@@

KITESURFING…

Doors Open Come out for Day Room or Stay Inside! (a older pale woman screamed from the intercom)

I showered Earlier so I Decided that I’d stay in my bunk and write… I needed the alone time from my other cellmates.
I wrote about my feelings and about other people's feelings also I mentioned the Midnight SKY AND THE WAY... (Knock Knock) Loud Taps on the Door postponed my writing... looking up from my notebook, I saw a Short Handsome guy with Morris chestnut complexion and Dreads “Hey this is a kite From (T-Mac) he said sliding the multiple folded paper underneath the door. “ maybe you have the wrong person” I said.

“ nah shawty, it’s for you he said...

currently, I was getting a hint from whom it might’ve come from.. “nah send it back” I replied twirling away from the door. Later that night I prepared myself to tell him off when I had the chance. I stopped working at the Kitchen and I signed up for GED classes, I’ve been studying more. I really wanted someone to vibe with and Talk to, but somehow I felt there was no way for me to meet an excellent honest person here!

@@@@@@@@@@@

NEW FRIENDS 😎

My first day of class and already I was the Teacher's favorite. After class instead of just leaving the building, instead, I headed toward the restroom. “Hey, girl,” someone said. Looking in the Mirror at the Flamboyant guy behind me I continued to wash my hands before facing him. “So you're the new girl, Hey I'm Tati.

“Um, I'm not a girl I'm a guy”. I declared openly!

“Yes, but didn't you use to talk to Tmac? He's one of the Popular Trade boys in here. So isn't your name Lovely?”

Ignoring Tati's questioning manner instead, I inquired for more information about Trey. I turned to face Tati before we both Departed the restroom “So what's the Deal with Tmac? I said. “ oh okay girl which building you stay in?” “Building 9,” I said. I had to move once I started school.

“Well, Girl I'm going to have to walk with you towards your building because it's going to take a while to tell you the “T”.

She literally had the “T” After talking with Tati we agreed to walk to and from school every day.

“Hey Bestfriend” she screams as I Exit the building. Tati was sure to let me know who the popular guys were and the list of guys who possess a crush on me. Here Everyone had a position and Title. Tati was cool with everyone because she also knew everyone's “T” and I was Considered the New Girl.

@@@@@@@@@@@

NEW GIRL -

I was a heterogeneous dude. No one here knew me or where I came from, which was perfectly fine for me to be whoever I chose.

nature poetryhumorexcerpts
8

About the Creator

HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)

Welcome to “My Public Diary “🤪💖

Your Mind is

A Wonderland of

Your Imagination

Make it Beautiful!

🎉I am an Actor, Model, Writer, and Entrepreneur ❤️❤️🙏

Send Tip$🍀 ❤️😉Send Hearts and Add insights if you'd like 😍 ✨💯😉❗

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    Interesting story, Lonzo. Do you plan to continue with it? Happy New Year, btw.

  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Brilliant piece. Wishing you a very happy new year! ❤

  • Chloe Gilholy4 months ago

    Happy new year my friend. This was wonderful.

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    Great story telling. Love can be confusing as is but attraction go died to our face. This paragraph in your story stood out to me the most:” Okay so I was pretending to be a straight Guy talking with my man voice obviously it was working, before this guy appeared and stared at me in a customary way like somebody that I use to know. I swore to myself to never have another relationship with a criminal. Why was he scoping me out? Ugh how did he see through me? I didn’t want to see this guy again Thinking to myself “maybe I should discover more things to do.”.

  • Test4 months ago

    simply brilliant. Happy new year 2024

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Happy New Year, Lonzo!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.