Poets logo

Metrics For Love

Show Me Your Humanness. I'll Show You My Heart.

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Metrics For Love
Photo by Wonderlane on Unsplash

Cherishing all our time spent together

He said he thinks I'm

wonderful in so many ways

*

Not often does he feel comfortable

with a person on so many levels

*

But he wasn't feeling good enough

to be in the presence of a woman so true

*

He doesn't want to muck it up

by doing something stupid

*

He said,

"Give me a few months."

*

As if changing who you are

is what's required to be loved

*

This isn't the first time

I've been turned down by a man

who feels that he doesn't measure up

*

I couldn't help but to recognize

saying that takes a lot of guts

But at the same time

if he isn't ready now

will he ever be man enough?

*

What I'm asking for doesn't seem like much

Authenticity

good will

soul

and effort

*

I don't ask for anything less than what I offer

*

But apparently for those with plastic smiles

that's asking for more than they earn

Leaving their beings bankrupt

by devaluing their own worth

*

For those bankrupt souls

I won't waste my breath

I won't sacrifice my gilded soul

for cotton printed wealth

*

No one is perfect

but that's what makes it worth it

*

We all struggle through the same kinds of pains

in different scenarios, intensities, and strains

When laying each stepping stone of our life paths

sometimes we stumble over a crack

before smoothing the pavement

*

As architects we build our realities

from the blueprint of our divinity

*

I'm a flawed woman

who has realized her divinity

by honoring her humanity

*

I'm just looking for someone

who is inspired by my evolution

rather than intimidated by my being

*

One willing to admit their faults

knowing they don't define their worthiness

Living everyday as an opportunity

to be themselves

yet a better version than yesterday

*

Who finds humor through the hardships

Smiling through the foibles

*

Knowing deep in their soul

that it's the struggle that makes us stronger

That it's the depth of our humanness

that reveals the god within the mortal

love poems

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sarah JaneWritten by Sarah Jane

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.