Poets logo

“Meth”

You are strong enough to quit hurting yourself.

By Charleen RicheyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Methamphetamine

A little bump, that’s all it took

For me to lose my way

My very soul, it was shook

To see no more of day

I used to be in sports and choir

Helping others explore anew

But, no longer would I inspire

Your hold had taken true.

Others before you had their way

The pain searing inside

I wore my heart out on display

Would no more, in God confide

He had left me, so I thought

And this shell of me resides

So when that baggie was first bought

Relief had changed the tides.

The first time, that we met

A gas station we did play

Intrigued , for me, maybe to get

A sparkling new way

Watching them, for a round

To nose - from CD case

“Shhh”, they said, “Nary a sound-

We don’t need ‘pigs’ to chase”

I did not do you on that night

My body and mind reeling

About the things that filled my sight

And scared to know your feeling

He had brought you home with him

I knew I should have fled

For around me, only was the grim

A new age was ahead

He dumped you out upon a tray

Your creamy, crystal rocks

I was to be your perfect prey

Now a School; Hard Knocks.

Lovingly, when we embraced

A ‘parachute’ was dropped

Your bitterness, I could taste

While my world around me popped

The stomach twisted, and it churned

Hurling not a choice

A better time, I had yearned

Should’ve listened to that voice

That little whisper deep inside

Often choosing to ignore

That said to me, “This isn’t right!

Please, don’t do this anymore!”

The Puppeteer spoke from his lips

“C’mon just do a line”

And moved down through his fingertips

“Your soul’s still yours, not mine”

With the most, wicked of smiles

Powder channels were created

Placating the daemon wiles

Dark, empty holes now sated

A straw shoved up inside my nose

Or maybe I chose the twenty

Higher highs, to hit new lows

Devil’s detail in the plenty

Snorting like a sow in heat

Crank swiftly disappears

Poison flowing through the meat

And lights up all the gears

“I totally can clean my house!

Or Maybe do my art!

Fully, just ignore his chouse

Damn! I feel smart!”

But trickery is his best ploy

Having to return quite often

His objective, to destroy

Now wandering in my coffin

After time, the fix too short

Somewhat boring, now the ride,

A softer whisper, “You should thwart!”

Another level to decide.

“It’s just so easy, you will see,

Your vein is no big deal!

It will truly set you free,

You! I can now steal!”

Spoon in hand, some powdered drops

A candle heats the path

“Gotta say, I’ll give you props!”

He sat back and just laughed.

Wired up, a cough to start.

Again, I can win the fight.

Ignition! Now jumps the heart.

Beating shadows in the night!

Somewhere, in that dark recess

The Light would not give way

He would help clean up my mess

Punctures fled to scarred display

But even though the needling left

Precious powder still remained

Still determined for his theft

A spirit marred and shamed.

Up and down the Cali Coast

Places intertwined

Losing weight, my greatest boast

Another one is lined

Working as a waitress

While living under planes

Wheels bound to my mattress

And Satan held the reigns

Up in Turlock, we discussed,

Another place for us to move

“It’s now to Texas, or we bust!”

A completely different groove

We arrived, Fourth of July

There was magic in the air

Fireworks darned the sky

That special Southern Flare

Another link, in the line

Connection, before a settle

In me, no longer a chine

Nor any type of mettle

But the spirit is so Great

When at the mercy of our Lord

He realigned a new fate

Heartache healed, that was scored

Finally, it’s now laying to rest

I had set temptation down

“Simul iustus et peccator” on breast!

Now giving Glory to His Crown.

Charleen Richey

March 12, 2021

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Charleen Richey

Freelance/ghostwriter. Began writing in the single digits and was blessed with a mom who obtained a degree and career in English. My family is my motivation and inspiration to follow my passion! I look forward to sharing my work with you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.