Poets logo

“Adoption”

If you are adopted, you ARE special!

By Charleen RicheyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Adoption

Born to a woman for years unknown

Into a new family, I had grown .

From day three I was brought home

All of the love, I could be shown

Lived on Birchwood my first four years

The first street to see, my little tears

It also saw my joy and play

Street football and climbing trees all day

Two years later they adopted another

Then two more years later, came our brother

But we had to move before he arrived

Unto a new city we would all thrive

Until that first day that I went to school

Explicitly told I wasn’t “cool”

“Tell us all who you are”, the teacher did say

And I stood up proudly, without any delay.

“My name is Charleen, I know I’m new,

But let me share something special with you”.

My parents told me I’m adopted you see

And I’d love for you all to be friends with me.”

One started laughing, the whole room joined in

Pointing fingers, adoption now sin

I looked up at the teacher, not knowing why

“Was it something I said?”, an upheaving sigh

The kids just laughed harder, one even started to drool

I wanted to run from this relentless school

Only one day, I am so wrong

Kids would tease the school day long

“You’re real mom didn’t want you!” “You’re Cinderella!”

They bought you to clean, your mom and her fella”.

Circled ‘trike-sharks’ pushed me around

And in my new dress, to my knees I fell down

I ran back inside, the tears did swell

What did I do? Am I in hell?

Teacher spotted me asking, what was wrong.

I feared looking up, “ I don’t belong”.

Thinking I referred to the students that day,

But the deeper sorrow I refused to say

My head hanging low, she said “You’re fine.”

“Give the kids just a little bit of time”

She was trying to help, to be sure

An opportunity to teach one to endure

But with her words, I did not understand

How children could take my emotions in hand

Turning and twisting all of the truth

To suit their needs for popular youth

I got on the bus and went on my way,

Getting home what would I say?

I’m sorry, dear mom, I’m not good enough?

Maybe say nothing, just remain tough?

Dawdling from the bus stop, all the way.

I didn’t want to go home that day.

“You’re home! Wonderful! How did it go?”

“Exiled” not in the vocabulary, ya know?

The water welled up and poured from my eyes.

The heartbreak, confusion, no way to disguise

“They didn’t like me. They said I am bad”.

The new kids at school made me so sad.”

With heartfelt arms I was wrapped

But all of my emotions, had been tapped.

Exhausted and slumped, I heard not a word.

Still convinced by children, that I was absurd.

Their venom spat, deadly blows on first thrust

Into this new world, I would go without trust.

Crying to sleep, the Sandman at last

Boogeyman replacing. Please! Avast!

Waking up later, upon the next day

Praying somehow this will all go away

I went to eat

Dragging defeat

“I don’t feel good, please can I stay?”

Hiding, maybe, it will all go away

“Nope, you must go”, hung in the air

But what had ensued, surely still to be there.

“ Okay, okay, I’ll get goin’”

But don’t expect my feelings to be showin’.

Another dress on, try again today

Maybe someone will want to play.

Back on the bus, I started to class

Laughter and sneering, they continued to pass.

Not a tear would I shed, no not a one

Now you all will be sorry when I am done

Mean and hateful is what you want me to be?

I’ll get you all back, just wait and see!

I ended up drowning in my sorrow,

Often wanting to avoid tomorrow

I let them over years, control my life

Manifesting only, a lonely strife.

Through the years, I have learned a new

Kids will be mean and may try n’ hurt you.

If you are adopted, you can be sure,

There are two people on earth, with love so pure

To sacrifice and and help carry on

Beliefs that your parents, carry so strong.

When others hate, remember to love.

No matter your place, YOU ARE a gift from above.

childrens poetry
2

About the Creator

Charleen Richey

Freelance/ghostwriter. Began writing in the single digits and was blessed with a mom who obtained a degree and career in English. My family is my motivation and inspiration to follow my passion! I look forward to sharing my work with you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.