Poets logo

Metamorphosis Chronicles | Pt2

Eviction.

By Poppy Published 5 months ago 1 min read
17
Image Created on Midjourney

I bury memories in a box beneath my bed, lying them down beside old birthday cards and childhood collections, leaving them for dust to claim.

I wash unfulfilled promises and misleading expectations from my hair with shampoo scented with strawberry and hope.

I peel back the layers of my personality like posters from my bedroom wall, folding them in on themselves, making bets with myself of whether daylight will greet them again.

I put my battle-weary thoughts in the washing machine, hoping they come out brighter, pegging them to the clothesline with a careful gentleness, wondering how long the sunshine will keep them warm for.

I painstakingly climb a rope labelled ‘time’ and hope and pray it will take the pain away.

❀❀❀❀❀

Part 1:

inspirational
17

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    For me, it does seem to get easier, but it never quite seems to go away. I'm not sure I want it to, as I'm afraid that would mean forgetting.

  • Poppy every word of this spoke to me. You are truly so gifted. I would quote a line but every single one was my favorite

  • Mesh Toraskar5 months ago

    Your metaphors give me life. Such stunning images. Loved so many lines but the ending is my favourite. ❤️

  • Mackenzie Davis5 months ago

    “I put my battle-weary thoughts in the washing machine, hoping they come out brighter, pegging them to the clothesline with a careful gentleness, wondering how long the sunshine will keep them warm for. “I painstakingly climb a rope labelled ‘time’ and hope and pray it will take the pain away.” Absolutely beautiful, Poppy. That ending is everything. I am so jealous of your metaphor work. ❤️🤯

  • Does it take the pain away for you, Poppy?

  • I wash unfulfilled promises and misleading expectations from my hair with shampoo scented with strawberry and hope. THIS!!!! Gosh I wish I could do this! Your poem was so powerful!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is simply gorgeous and I hope the climb will get easier and not stretch too high.

  • I love the optimistic tone of this poem and also the cheerful daffodil picture, "I put my battle-weary thoughts in the washing machine, hoping they come out brighter, pegging them to the clothesline with a careful gentleness, wondering how long the sunshine will keep them warm for." Thank you !

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Brilliantly written!!! Love this!!!1💕❤️❤️

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    That hairwash, oh yes. This was gorgeously written, as ever.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.