Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Messages To My Past.

Stronger Without You

By Carol TownendPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Messages To My Past.
Photo by Greg Rosenke on Unsplash

You told me I was useless,

You told me I was worthless;

You used me as your punchbag,

You treated me like I was nothing.

You said I'd never make anything of myself,

You made me feel like a waste of time.

Oh yeah,

I was nothing to you;

Just a big bruised softball that you could kick around,

A sore voice silenced by your poor excuses for your

treatment of me.

You never showed me love,

You never showed me respect;

All you did was take,

While all I did was give.

And the violence!

A poor excuse for the treatment I endured,

From the men and women who said

"I love you."

Your violence no longer silences me,

For I have learnt love is not abuse;

Love doesn't bruise like your emotional

pit does.

I want you to know;

I am stronger without you,

I don't need your punches,

Stealing,

Lying,

Cheating,

Manipulation,

or

Self-gratification.

I am free,

Loved for being me,

By myself and those around me

More independent;

Confident,

Strong,

Outspoken,

Happy and stronger without you.

I end this poem with a song that reflects my strength

Video courtesy of YouTube (Accessed by author: 29/02/2024

slam poetrysocial commentaryMental Healthinspirationalheartbreak

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Carol TownendWritten by Carol Townend

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.