Poets logo

Thunder In The Sky

The Sound Of My Victory.

By Carol TownendPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Thunder In The Sky
Photo by Michał Mancewicz on Unsplash

A great big roar,

A flash of light,

The heavens create a beautiful sight.

Darkness;

The crashing of drums all around,

My voice dares to make a sound.

Below me, the ground cracks,

Above me, the lightning strikes

the whiplash of my wounded heart.

The low rumbles roar,

Lower in sound,

Yet, high above the ground,

Here I still stand;

Embracing the strength of my voice,

Each bright streak of light,

Lifting me higher,

And;

The higher I move up,

My voice carries me;

Standing my ground,

Being heard for the first time.

There is thunder in the sky;

Do you hear me?

The sound of my voice,

My victory.

You pulled me down twice,

But I come out of the shadows,

And step into the light.

There is thunder in the sky

The sound of my victory;

Telling you,

Your time of torment is done,

And you can't stop me anymore.

surreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryperformance poetrynature poetryMental Healthinspirational

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Carol TownendWritten by Carol Townend

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.