Poets logo

Mess around

Inspired by the classy film Planes, Trains and Automobiles. For John Candy

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
26

he did the, “mess around,”

Oh boy did he get that right

Teeter-tottering just at the brink

Can this last dance tear

Through the mind-numbing holiday Air that left me In a black hole?

Tear through the unending madness

The layered magnetic fields of our past together

That link is to mortality,

A cut off battery that makes me feel sick

Uncharged.

That mess around was

My smoothest one

Thinking about the last time I held you so excruciatingly tight

I thought I was literally falling apart

(When you fell apart)

But you taught me how to love with something deeper than myself

To share that crazy feeling of

That

Mess around

How my endless grief and my anxiety creeps in like an uncontrollable dance

How can I go on when I no longer have you?

I believe you’re always with me

Even though you are not

Now that I share our story of

Mess around

W/ someone new

A string of shower curtains

Tangled up around you, me and him

Like a Christmas wreath

I’ll make us all smooth again.

love poemsHolidayheartbreak
26

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • KJ Aartila5 months ago

    This is an enjoyable, flowing read. :)

  • JBaz5 months ago

    I do not know where your mind goes when you write but I am so thankful you share your ideas with us Congratulations

  • Cyrus5 months ago

    Congrats on TS

  • Gerald Holmes5 months ago

    Well done. I loved his movies. Congrats on Top Story

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Melissa …this was so unique and kinda surreal! Well done! I had no idea how this connected to P T & A (which I love) then played your video and it was Ted so I got more confused.😅 then the song came on and I remembered the scene in Planes! I love John Candy too. I also like Only Lonely and Uncle Buck. There’s a bunch more but they are a few favs. Anyway rambling tonight, but hope things feel smoother for you soon. Congrats on top story!! 😊 🎉 🎉

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Congratulations on your top story! This was so much fun to read.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Marvelous!!! Congratulations on the Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • That was awesome. Not what i was expecting when I saw Ted in the pic. Amazing poetry. So good.

  • Yayyyyyy you got a Top Story! Congratulations Merly!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is a beautiful mess, and I mean that in the most complimentary way.

  • How my endless grief and my anxiety creeps in like an uncontrollable dance That line resonated very deeply with me. It indeed does feel like an uncontrollable dance. Loved your poem, Merly!

  • We just finished watching "Planes, Trains & Automobiles" (a Thanksgiving tradition of ours). I can't believe how much "Ted 2" copied from it, lol. Blessed Thanksgiving to you, Melissa. May it all be smooth sailing from here on out.

  • I really loved your poem.

  • When I saw your title, I immediately thought of the movie scene. Great stuff from you, as always! Happy Thanksgiving! 🍁🦃

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.