Poets logo

Feeling like death will grab you

.

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
12
Feeling like death will grab you
Photo by Evie S. on Unsplash

Something Made me feel sad

I wanna search for the feeling

The layers of sensation that is tangible like a ghost sigh

The layers of a person that complicates

The layers of nature that swirls amongst the humans that dare to trample it

I don't want to write about you

When you threw me away so easily

I don't want to think even when my brain just cannot

Stop

I just wanna talk

And talk about the death

Yes, death

That seems to be pulling at me

Like a slow fly-rod

Teasing in the bright blue stream

Along the rocks

Waiting for me to grab the hook

Will the shock wipe me from oblivion?

Will I pass over

Will I pass through the mist?

I do feel sad

I thought I would search this feeling

But instead

Death grabs at me

Why do I trust love when it is so unprepared for me?

This poem is unfinished

Like how you left us.

heartbreak
12

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Heartbreaking, sad very powerful. 

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Sad, yet beautiful. Nicely done.

  • ThatWriterWoman6 months ago

    Those closing lines had such an emotional impact, well done!

  • This poem is unfinished like how you left us. Omgggg that line!!!! It hit me so hard because that's like so true for me!

  • And death still lingers....

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Love how you finished ( or didn’t) this beautiful poem. ‘Will I pass through the mist?’ What a line

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    Heartbreaking and as has already been said, highly emotive. On a personal level, I appreciated the fly fishing analogy, even if it was from the perspective at the other end of the line. Great work, Melissa!

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Oh ouch. That last two lines are the perfect ending to such a strongly emotive piece. Well done on this Melissa. I noted one tiny thing editorially "I don't what to write about you" is that missing a "want" instead of "what" or maybe "know" before "what"? Ignore me if that seemed rude! :)

  • Rene Peters6 months ago

    This is so emotional... I love that

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.