Poets logo

Men in Black

Grammar spies are watching you.

By J. S. WadePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2022
46
Men in Black
Photo by Sander Sammy on Unsplash

Full moon rose in the sky, my written work complete.

I hit send without a proof

and promptly fell asleep.

✍️

The phone call came at work, “Black suits are at your door.

What crime have you committed?

They just ripped up the floor."

✍️

Panic raged through my mind; the comma splice existed.

If they find my laptop.

No doubt, I'll be arrested.

✍️

I ran from the office to cry and think, to brood

Upon return, I found,

My boss was in a mood.

✍️

"If you did what they say, with you, we won't conspire.

We cannot have criminals

Pack your things; you're fired."

✍️

Through cold dark streets, I ran, no friends to help I found.

In Grand Central, I hid.

I had to leave the town.

✍️

Ten black suits woke me up and bound my wrist with ties.

I demanded, "What's the charge?"

"Comma splice," they replied.

✍️

In a padded wagon, they took me to a jail.

I stood before a judge.

A bailiff cried, "All hail."

✍️

"Hear ye, Hear ye, hear ye, felony grammar crook.

You are guilty, and I charge.

Ten to life by the book."

✍️

Awakened from my dream, the bed all in a sweat.

Laziness had crept in.

My writing was a threat.

✍️

Bad grammar, I had learned, to ignore would be unwise.

I'm not going to jail

for a comma splice.

✍️

Oxford or Chicago rules will decide your fate

Break the law, and you'll find out.

The men in black await.

surreal poetryperformance poetry
46

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Congratulations on top story 🎉🎉🎉

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Clever and fun! Well done, Scott. Congrats on your well deserved Top Story :)

  • Erica Wagnerabout a year ago

    Never thought I’d read a poem about a comma splice! Bravo! 🤣 And happy new year — (there, you’ve seen my weakness for dashes — )

  • DiscipleMakingabout a year ago

    Excellent to your poem..

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    I love this! 😅

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Scott this was awesome! Congrats :)

  • tharunabout a year ago

    (Upon return i found My boss was in a mood) this lines i like your work

  • Mark Grahamabout a year ago

    Loved the poem. Look what you have done. You wrote a great poem. Perfect grammar no comma splice.

  • Congratulations 🎉 That was An Awesome ✨ Read. ❤️👍💯

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    😂 Great poem.

  • Carol Townendabout a year ago

    This is a funny read. I like your work, and I'm reading more!

  • Wasim khanabout a year ago

    Men!!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    'I'm not going to jail for a comma splice'! Love it! great work and congratulations on Top Story! Misuse of the Oxford comma is certainly a felony!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!! ☺️

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Oh those pesky men in black. Well done a little chuckle to start the day.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Ahh! So very good I love this sort of stuff that has such satisfying satire. Congratulations on your top story

  • Congrats on your Top Story 👍

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Love It! The grammar worries can certainly cause nightmares!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Oh! It is scary! Entertaining read, though. Good job!

  • Lol, this was hilarious!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is so creative!! Wonderfuul job!! 😍

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    haha. This is great. Well done.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Brilliant!!! Fabulous entry!!!💕💖

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.