Poets logo

Melina

Or, return.

By Matt B.Published 5 months ago 2 min read
1

THE LETTER OF LOVER

The imprint of your song took root, Melina

And your gray eyes laugh again, Melina

―Camilo Sesto (Melina)

*

Dear Melina, I hope you're alright

I don't know if this will reach you

I don’t know where you are

I don’t know where you went to

I don’t know if they’re right

Cover this letter with the scent of your lips

I want you to acknowledge the much that I miss

I miss the times birds sang blue songs

They were for you, to you the sky belongs

And with you went the fox, the sheep, the salmon

Desolated, came to me the weeping and famine

I remember your hair as roots, Melina

How it perfumed the air with fruits

And Melina you combd the tribe of colors

Your gray eyes expelled rays so joyous

Melina, you soon became sign of day

At night I knew you wouldn’t stay

Since on your hips grew sunflowers

I said “Melina, she has sun powers”

Remember how you promised to come back, Melina?

I could write you all day, Melina

Of the jitters that haunt me

Or the fact that I’m gauntly

But I want you, come back, Melina

Before it’s too late

For me

To carry the weight

Please

***

THE SONG OF PEOPLE

Even if she doesn’t come back as promised, her children will, or the children of her children will.

―Andres Caicedo (The Messengers)

*

Remember how you promised to come back, Melina?

Is regret on your shoulders painted black, Melina?

We live by the hope that you’re alright

Please come back as we need you

And your ghost is held back tight

A truce was made, we’ve freed you

*

Melina, for your people search with grief

Your gaze in the stars, your hair in a leaf

Melina, we thought departure would be brief

As brief as a phase of Mars, as brief as milk

Our mistake was soon unfolded

Melina, this night is colder

***

THE FATE OF MELINA

But she doesn't know he's there

―The Beatles (Here, There and Everywhere)

*

And she doesn't know she’s there.

Steady walks through sand and heat

But here eyes can’t burn,

She stares at the Sun

"I'm not there" She knows

But she doesn't know she’s there

*

There she goes with guilt, with wrath, with pain

Singing a song of cold blue skies

The leaves, the clouds, with love, it stains

But the wind causes to cry

She turns and sees prints gone

Cacti yearning to fly

She’s forgotten the long spring cold

Doesn't truly know why,

But she knows she’s lost way home

*

And she doesn’t know she’s there

Her heart beats clouds to rain

The wanderer, singing again

But she doesn’t know she’s there

*

And she doesn’t know she’s there

Buried in sand,

Calmly in calm

Resting with wrath;

She’s already come back

But she doesn’t know she’s there.

vintagesurreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreakart
1

About the Creator

Matt B.

He/Him

A romantic reader and an amateur writer who likes to write non-conventional stories and unusual plot lines.

I read romantic era fiction and find myself lost in the pages of Dumas' "The Count of Montecristo" and Shelley's "Frankenstein"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.