Poets logo

Me And You

a poem about unrequited love between a girl and a boy

By Free BirDPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Me And You
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I see the way you look at me.

I hear the way you speak.

I watch the way you act around me.

I feel the way you touch me.

How can you tell me you don't feel that way about me?

How can you tell me you don't want me that way?

How can you tell me that she's all you want?

How can you tell me that we're just friends?

When you sit next to me, I listen to your heart rate rise.

When you talk to me, I watch your mouth.

When you stand with me, I see the way your hands move.

When you're near me, I feel your breathing grow faster.

You can't tell me that when you held me in your arms you felt nothing.

You can't tell me that when you kissed me you didn't tingle all over.

You can't tell me that when you held my hand you weren't shaking.

You can't tell me that when we said goodbye you didn't want to cry.

I dream about you every night.

I think of you every day.

I still feel you with me.

I can't just get "over" you.

When I hear your voice, I melt.

When i feel your touch, I tremble.

When I read your texts, my chest aches.

When I look at your pictures, I cant breathe.

Laying in your bed, I hope you dream of me.

Going to work, I hope you think of me.

Spending time with other girls, I hope you still feel me.

Trying to move on, I hope you know I'm not over you.

Every song is about you,

Every movie has you in it.

Every book is based on you,

Every face is yours.

You're no supermodel but you're gorgeous to me.

You're not 6 feet tall but you're tall enough for me.

You're not a genius but you're smarter than me.

You're not that cool but you are the most awesome guy to me.

The time I have with you is precious when I have it.

When you're not here with me, my heart aches more than you'll ever know.

The time without you seems to pass so slowly

But the time I have with you just seems to go by way too fast.

They say your name and I smile.

They tease me about you and I blush.

They watch us together and I just show you off.

They talk about you and I put them in their place.

You're the only one I want

You just can't see it.

You may have realized she's not the one for you

But you haven't realized I'm the one for you.

Fess up to the way you truly feel,

Stop deceiving yourself and leaving me hanging.

Let go of your fear and throw caution to the wind,

Let your heart guide you.

I don't know what's going through your head.

sometimes I wish I could read minds

but other times, I just want you to tell me

So I won't have to worry about reading your thoughts.

I've loved you for so long,

I just kept denying it because I thought I loved someone else.

I look back and realize I was a fool.

I wish I could change so much in my past.

I regret very little but I regret letting you go.

I regret being such a coward and not telling you the truth.

I regret not having more time.

I regret not telling you "I love you".

But I'm afraid I'll be rejected again,

I'm afraid you'll break my heart.

But how could it break any more than it already is?

I'm afraid no one can fix it ever again.

I won't let you go.

I won't move on.

I won't say my love will die.

I won't give up.

I'm not going to push you,

I can't make you love me.

I'll give you time to realize it yourself.

I'll just be me and show you what you're missing.

so keep on calling,

so keep on texting,

so keep on emailing,

so keep on keeping me your friend.

love poems

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Free BirDWritten by Free BirD

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.