Poets logo

Me and Myself

A poetic conversation between current me and younger me

By Joe PattersonPublished 5 days ago 1 min read

Hello younger me.

You look like an older, yet still dumber me.

Ha! I’m still funny see.

Hope you’re proud at what you see because I grew real big.

I’m not that impressed because my head is still big.

That I can dig. Also you still never played any sports.

I could’ve guessed that by lookin’. Yeah you’re still too short.

Well adulthood isn’t half as bad as it seems.

Do I still love Nickelodeon, Harry Potter and Scream?

Yes you do. Still think they’re all the best you do.

Maybe the real best is you.

There’s a lot of things that happen when you get older.

Will I get a lot more braver and bolder?

Absolutely. You even gain a lot of knowledge.

What else? You gonna tell me that I also go to college?

As a matter of fact you actually do.

You’re just messing with me man that can’t be true.

Oh but it is. You know your mama didn’t raise no fool.

How did I go to college even though I don’t like school?

Well that all changes and life rearranges.

One day I’ll grow no longer be little Joe?

You’ll always be little Joe. True to your family’s letters.

Only I’ll be bigger, bolder and better?

Yes you’ll be incredible, a big little bomb.

How will things be between me and our mom?

Well that’s a lot to say. In fact it’s too much, a story for another day.

love poemsslam poetryinspirationalhumorFriendshipFree VerseFamily

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Tiffany Gordon a day ago

    Very creative! I ❤️ it!

  • Novel Allen5 days ago

    Oh, I love this, I should do one for my younger me, what a conversation that would be, Your head is still big but it fits better now, right? Yeah, you made it to adulthood...ah, you even write stories, you forgot to say. Love it.

Joe PattersonWritten by Joe Patterson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.