Poets logo

Mask

Who am I

By asanté saundersPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

You wear a mask so long you forget whose really underneath it

Question whether the reflection is just a facade of what U believe in

The masked me is gettin' so hard to distinguish from reality

Crazy to think there’s such a thing as good or bad

Lived long enough to realize that there’s no such thing in that

What I used to believe has escaped me, and what I do believe is always just cloudy

I play into this dream state again and again, wondering if I’ll ever rise from my slumber

Or be kissed like Snow White and escape this horrible dungeon

My mission is no longer as clear as before, should I execute my target or question my resolve

I no longer involve myself in long thoughts of who I am, or who I will be

I'm 23 and have no conclusion of who I truly ought to be

Am I the man who gives myself to all, loves all and gives my heart on the table amongst the rest?

Or am I the cold nihilist that would make Rick seem like a Jerry

Barely

I don't know if there’s even a mask, if there’s even a reason for putting one on or if its just a glitch in the system

Is this the universe where I figure it out, where I don't shy away from the moment and the moment is me

Or is it the version where I just daze into the thoughts of my alternate, even parallel reality

The cracked mirror doesn’t tell me anything

It jus gives me more reason to question everything

Is it really me writing or is it the reflection controlling me

My conscience speaks as if its been here before, like its on a course that knows where it's at and just wants its fair share

Or maybe it's just wishing it’ll win me over with thinking I'm in control when its already been decided

My selfish acts of thinking I'm ‘the one’ has lead me to glimpses of hope, yet...

I'm still here

Breathing, thinking, gazing amongst the stars

Wishing I could know, who I truly am

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

asanté saunders

sometimes i write poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.