Poets logo

Marshmallows

Please explain their existence?

By Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17Published 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 2 min read
Marshmallows
Photo by Wouter Supardi Salari on Unsplash

Day 40/366 Days of writing on vocal.

Everyone needs that one friend that you can have healthy banter with. My friend Ann is that one for me. She’s a writing professor at a college so I always go to her for writing ideas. She’s also the one friend that I send inappropriate memes to. I think we all have this person in our lives.

Today I texted Ann and said,”I don’t know what to write about today.” She responded with,”Write about how you hate Marshmallows.” All of a sudden I lit up. Ah of course. I can totally write about that like I wrote about hating Girl Scout cookies. I then asked her,”Why is it so easy and fulfilling to write about things I hate?” She said something that really made sense. “Because you’re clear about it. “

Marshmallows. I’m clear about them alright. The funny thing is that Ann loves Marshmallows so this is one of those things we can have healthy banter about. I think they are disgusting, while she thinks they are dreamy. But she did however give me the idea for this poem so thanks Ann.

Marshmallows are wrong, let me tell you why,

In their fluffy innocence, there’s a deceitful lie.

They appear so sweet, pure as snow,

But beneath their surface, they really need to go.

Marshmallows are wrong, let me tell you why,

Their artificial flavoring , a clever disguise.

A want a be cloud, tempting to the eye,

But unnatural ingredients, that I deeply mortify.

Marshmallows are wrong, let me tell you why,

Do I chew them or let them dissolve and die?

Their touch so soft, in a creepy way,

Messy and sticky, I feel onset tooth decay.

Marshmallows are wrong, let me tell you why,

Their taste so saccharine, like an overly sweet fungi.

Laden with sugar, a health hazard indeed,

Empty calories, that fulfil no nutritional need.

Marshmallows are wrong, let me tell you why,

Their origin in gelatin, mixed with things gone awry.

Wtf is that texture? Is it even safe?

It feels wrong in my mouth. Like a silly putty mistake.

Marshmallows are wrong, let me tell you why,

Their presence in desserts, a culinary lie.

For there are better options, more flavors to explore,

To tantalize our taste buds, and leave us wanting more.

Marshmallows are wrong, let me tell you why,

They’re in that nasty Thanksgiving dish, Americans bring as a side.

They're just puffs of sugar, with no real purpose.

Hold them from my s’mores please, to me they are plain worthless.

In closing let’s go back to that Thanksgiving dish,

I’m scared just looking at it, it was made by Aunt Tish.

Do you see how nasty this looks in this photo?

Not a delicacy at all and disgusting to swallow.

For Fun

About the Creator

Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17

Multidimensional Creative-preneur

Life Coach, Personal Trainer, Artist, Writer. Formerly in restaurant business for 3 decades. Soul expression is my ❤️ language. Spirituality,music, art, food and creativity fuel my life. IG @jenergy17

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17Written by Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.