Poets logo

Loving you

JQR

By Amanda McGuirePublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Loving you
Photo by Shaira Dela Peña on Unsplash

Loving you is as easy as breathing.

But sometimes being with you gets lonely, wanting to do things with you that just aren’t possible.

I’ve never been one to do things the easy way. Life has surely seen to that.

Knowing what you’ve been through in your life, I’m sure you’d say the same.

The night we first met I knew I needed you in my life.

So much has happened since then. Big life changing things.

Our relationship hasn’t been easy, but when we are together it feels like the complications of life don’t exist.

I’ve had this picture in my head of a future. A house with room for your kids, a workshop for your projects, a big kitchen, and a craft space for me. Maybe a room for our kid too. It’s a future that grew in my mind as my heart grew too.

Maybe it’s possible, or maybe life has other plans.

There are certainly plenty of logical reasons to give up. But when I told you I was all in I meant it.

With all of the damage that’s been done I fought hard to love myself and to be happy alone.

Then you came along and saw me, every little quirk and bruised piece.

Sometimes all that damage comes back and my head and heart fight over who’s right. Your voice, touch or even just a look silences them both.

I miss you whenever we’re apart, and sometimes when it’s been too much time apart that internal battle starts up again.

Sometimes I hold back from telling you how I feel because I’m afraid it’s just too much.

Falling in love with you felt so natural, loving you is just a part of who I am now.

I can only hope that someday soon circumstances will change and I won’t have to spend so much time missing you.

It’s been said that those things in life that are worth it are usually the hardest. I can say from experience that this is a true statement.

But as long as I breathe, I’m loving you.

love poems

About the Creator

Amanda McGuire

Just a girl writing for fun… With a passion for helping others and striving to always be my most authentic self.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Amanda McGuireWritten by Amanda McGuire

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.