Poets logo

Love, Part One

By Phantasma

By Rachel JacobsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Emma from the Promised Neverland

Love is warped,

And I've accepted that.

There was not

Enough love for me

To keep him from breaking

My mother's heart.

To keep him home

On weekend nights.

This is because

Some admire,

And some desire.

Love is uneven,

And I've accepted that.

There was not

Enough patience

As an eleven year old girl

Set up a family game night,

When a mother scowled with pain,

Retreating, as my father

Felt a daughters guilt

Of trying to bring her parents

Back together.

Love is not for those

Who settle,

It is for those who fight.

And I never,

Hardly ever,

Heard my parents fight.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Jacobs

Welcome to The Chameleon Heart.......

@phantasma.philosophy ~ Instagram for my poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.