Poets logo

Love Lessons

a poem for those learning to love themselves

By K.C. KENNINGS Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

"When was it that you unlearned how to love you?"

Somewhere between a 5 year old in lacy socks

and a 15 year old in oversized t-shirts

I attended lessons on how to belittle myself.

Mirrors like whiteboards and an unidentifiable lecturer repeating

"not enough" but also "too much"

Highlighting everything less than perfect about myself

and overlooking the good stuff because that's not what I was going to be quizzed on.

"When was it that you learned to love you again?"

Somewhere between a 15 year old in baggy t-shirts and a 25 year old with a smile I found the restricted section of my own library.

Late night study sessions

in a variety of love languages

speaking slowly to myself to get the dictation right.

I sought out keynotes by experts in forgiveness and finding lights in dark spaces.

The more time I spent in my new field of study,

the more I found like-minded peers, and formed new study groups that posed challenging questions like:

"When was it that you unlearned how to love you?"

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

K.C. KENNINGS

Write from the light

Your Life Matters

She/Her

LGBTQ+

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.