Poets logo

Love is such a faulty thing

A concept all imagining, And holes that cannot fill

By Benjamin KibbeyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Love is such a faulty thing
Photo by Hush Naidoo on Unsplash

Love is such a faulty thing,

An empty little pill,

A concept all imagining,

And holes that cannot fill.

A rising up on crest of wave

And pretending that we fly.

Ridiculous, we act surprised,

In consequential dive.

The fairy tales we tell ourselves

And spread around the herd

Of holy things and other realms,

When's just hormones we stir.

But thinking on the facts of it –

My brain self-dosing drugs –

It seems a waste to think there on,

Our time, so not enough.

For if computer's all I am,

If chance did give me breath,

Well, futility cannot exist

When all things end in death.

Because it's all comparative,

And presumes ends good and bad.

But all ends being equal ends…

I love the love I've had.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Benjamin Kibbey

Award-winning journalist, Army vet and current freelance writer living in the woods of Montana.

Find out more about me or follow for updates on my website.

You can also follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.